HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Everything about backing up to tape

HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Veeam Logoby omitv » Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:50 am

Hi,

We purchased the tape drive that would seem to be suitable for our needs. Installation was easy. I was able to update the device firmware for library and drive via HP LTT, Windows device manager shows library and media changer device. In Veeam everything seems to be ok but when I try to inventory drives I receive a following error on each tape:
Loading tape GH114L6 from Slot 2 to Drive 1 (Tape0) Error: WinApi function 'Failed to move medium. Returned win error: '1'. Parameters: MoveMediumImpl(uintsourceElementAddress='1',ELEMENT_TYPE destinationElementType='ChangerDrive') failed, code '1', message 'Incorrect function'
Also backups to tape fail with error Unable to start tape backup session: Tape not exchanged. Could this be an incompatible driver issue as it seems Veeam can't move the tapes in the library?

I've opened up a case to Veeam with nr. 00523741
omitv
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 2:37 pm

Re: HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Feb 27, 2014 9:48 am

Hi, I'm wondering what product version you're using. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Veeam Logoby omitv » Thu Feb 27, 2014 9:50 am

I'm using Veeam B&R 7 version: 7.0.0.833
omitv
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 2:37 pm

Re: HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:14 am

Do these cassettes have data written on them by different tape backup application? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Veeam Logoby omitv » Thu Feb 27, 2014 11:37 am

No. The tapes are brand new out of the box tapes.
omitv
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 2:37 pm

Re: HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Feb 27, 2014 11:58 am

The drive might be shown differently in Windows Device Manager and in the given library. For instance, in the library drive slot#1 is disabled and the tape drive is assigned to slot#2. Meanwhile, in Windows Device Manager this device will be considered as the one assigned to slot#1, because the free/disabled slots aren't reflected there. Such discrepancy leads to the VB&R inability to inventory move tape mediums in this drive, etc.

If it's the case, try to move manually the corresponding drive to the first slot, and see whether it makes any difference. Otherwise, keep working with support team and they will describe the required steps for you.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] : Tandberg T24 Library appare like HP single drive

Veeam Logoby BigGeorge » Wed Mar 19, 2014 5:43 pm

Hi all,
We have a Tandberg T24 SAS Library connected to Physical Windows 2012R2 server where we have installed Veeam B&R last patch.

In the Veeam Backup Infrastructure we see "HP LTO Ultrium-5 drive" that is a single drive ... how we can see the correct tape Library?

We had also open a support case #00533661

thank you!
Giorgio
BigGeorge
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:00 pm
Location: Italy
Full Name: Giorgio Colucci

[MERGED] : Re: Tandberg T24 Library appare like HP single dr

Veeam Logoby BigGeorge » Wed Mar 19, 2014 6:15 pm

Now I've find that the LTO Library require 2 drivers:
- one for HP LTO Drive
- one for Exabyte Magnum 224

Now in the Veeam Backup Infrastructure I'm able to see the tape lib and the tapes!
I've create one Media Pool and make "mark as free" all tapes.
Then I've create a Backup to Tape job but the error now is:

Code: Select all
19/03/2014 19:09:15 :: Loading tape A00001 from Slot 9 to Drive 81 (Tape0) Error: WinApi function 'Failed to move medium. Returned win error: '1162'. Parameters: MoveMediumImpl(uint sourceElementAddress='8', ELEMENT_TYPE sourceElementType ='ChangerSlot', uint destinationElementAddress ='0', ELEMENT_TYPE destinationElementType ='ChangerDrive')' failed, code '1162', message 'The indicated element does not exist'


Anyone can help me?
Thank you!
Giorgio
BigGeorge
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:00 pm
Location: Italy
Full Name: Giorgio Colucci

Re: HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:05 pm

Hi, Giorgio,

Kindly, check whether the above mentioned discrepancy (drive assigned to different slots in library and Windows device Manager) exists in your environment; it might be the root cause of the tape movement failure. If this isn't not the case, please, keep working with our support team.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Veeam Logoby BigGeorge » Thu Mar 20, 2014 8:21 am 1 person likes this post

Hi all,

my problem was related to Library drivers and Library operational mode (emulation vs native).

I've resolve the problem by install latest 2012R2 Library drivers and latest 2012R2 drive drivers.

thank you and best regards
Giorgio
BigGeorge
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:00 pm
Location: Italy
Full Name: Giorgio Colucci

Re: HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Mar 20, 2014 8:31 am

Thank you for coming back and updating the topic with the found resolution; highly appreciated.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: [MERGED] : Tandberg T24 Library appare like HP single dr

Veeam Logoby mbarys » Thu Jun 18, 2015 9:58 pm

Hi!

How did you resolve this? I have the 224 and Veeam is showing the two drives but no changer. Windows device manager isn't even showing the medium changer like it does on my other server.

Thanks!
Matt

BigGeorge wrote:Hi all,
We have a Tandberg T24 SAS Library connected to Physical Windows 2012R2 server where we have installed Veeam B&R last patch.

In the Veeam Backup Infrastructure we see "HP LTO Ultrium-5 drive" that is a single drive ... how we can see the correct tape Library?

We had also open a support case #00533661

thank you!
mbarys
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 7:45 pm

Re: HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:04 am

Have you tried that?
BigGeorge wrote:my problem was related to Library drivers and Library operational mode (emulation vs native).

I've resolve the problem by install latest 2012R2 Library drivers and latest 2012R2 drive drivers.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Veeam Logoby mbarys » Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:43 pm

Problem is that Windows doesn't even see the medium changer so I can't install that driver. It's got the two tape drives listed and I ran the driver update and those are updated, but nothing for the medium changer like it shows on the other server where it was installed with Backup exec.
mbarys
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 7:45 pm

Re: HP StoreEver 1/8 G2 LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 tape load error

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Jun 19, 2015 4:36 pm

Have you tried downloading and manually running a driver setup file? I believe you can get it here
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests