Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
microdata
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 03, 2012 7:52 am
Full Name: Microdata
Contact:

IBM 3573 Tape Library

Post by microdata » Aug 06, 2014 2:03 pm

Hi,
I'm trying to setting up the IBM 3575 Tape Library into veeam B&R but I'm not able to see it.
Windows also isn't able to use the "official drivers" and recognizes the TL as "Unknown Juke-box", but I'm able to use it with BackupExec, so the TL is working fine.
How can I solve this issue?

Thanks
Max

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17599
Liked: 1467 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: IBM 3573 Tape Library

Post by foggy » Aug 06, 2014 2:21 pm

Max, in order for Veeam B&R to work properly with the tape library, first make sure both tape drives and medium changer are correctly displayed in Device Manager. Probably, you're using wrong drivers.

microdata
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 03, 2012 7:52 am
Full Name: Microdata
Contact:

Re: IBM 3573 Tape Library

Post by microdata » Aug 06, 2014 3:36 pm

Ok may be, but I only see the tape drives, not the library, and only Veeam is not able to see it, all the other backup software are seeing it without problem, why?

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15967
Liked: 1284 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: IBM 3573 Tape Library

Post by v.Eremin » Aug 06, 2014 3:44 pm

In order for VB&R to work properly with tape library both tape drives and medium changer should be shown correctly in Device Manager. So, make sure you have both of them reflected correctly there. Also, are using non-exclusive or exclusive drivers ? In the latter case, kindly, reinstall the drivers with non-exclusive version. In addition, are there any 3-party specific drivers installed that might prevent us from identifying library correctly? Thanks.

ryanm
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 16, 2013 5:17 pm
Contact:

Re: IBM 3573 Tape Library

Post by ryanm » Aug 13, 2014 8:33 pm 1 person likes this post

If you drive is fiber channel you might have to re-zone it to take away access from your Backup Exec Server. I had problems getting the changer mechanism detected properly. Also if you are trying to Run BE and VEEAM on the same server I don't think it will be successful since BE wants it's own tape drivers and the Microsoft one.

I beleive there is an uninstall function in the bundle of the IBM tape drivers as well. I think you need to do that as well after the above is completed. IIRC.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests