Backup to IBM's TS3100

Everything about backing up to tape

Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby tilburgs » Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:17 pm

Our Installation of Veeam is on Windows Server 2008 Standard SP1, we have an IBM TS3100 with 23 Slots connected to it.
We are not able to allocate any media, as the overview for adding tapes doesn't recognize the tapes.
If I look into the Windows Drivers for that machine, it tells me that the Driver is for an IBM ULT3580-HH5 SCSI Sequential Device.

I have absolutely no clue, how to get my tape library properly connected to my Veeam Version 7. :oops:
tilburgs
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:11 pm
Full Name: Ton Tilburgs

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:24 pm

Hi, Ton,

Are there any other tape backup software being installed in your environment? Can you also confirm that library, as well as, corresponding drives are properly shown in Windows Device Manager?

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby tilburgs » Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:45 pm

There is no other backup Software installed in our Environment.
IBM ULT3580-HH5 SCSI Sequential Device is displayed twice in tape drives.
I can't see TS3100
tilburgs
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:11 pm
Full Name: Ton Tilburgs

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:16 pm

So, the corresponding library isn’t shown under “Medium Changer devices” node in Windows device Manager? It seems that something is wrong with tape drivers. I’m wondering what type of IBM drivers you’re using. Exclusive or non-exclusive ones? It’s recommended that you use non_exclusive IBM drivers. Otherwise, you might face certain issues.

Also, have you tried to update to the latest product version?

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:44 pm

Ton,

Additionally, I would recommend you to contact our support team, provide all troubleshooting info they need regarding your issue. Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby RMullis » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:46 pm

Ton,

Did you get your issue resolved? I have a TS3100 at one datacenter and a TS3200 at another. I bother servers under Device Manager they show up as:

Medium Changer device
IBM TotalStorage 3573 Tape Library

Tape Drives
IBM Ultrium 5 HH 3580 Tape Drive
IBM Ultrium 5 HH 3580 Tape Drive

In both environments the sleds (drives) are half height just like your environment.

Let me know if I can be of assistance,
Rick
RMullis
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:45 pm
Full Name: Rick Mullis

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby tilburgs » Mon Nov 18, 2013 7:32 am

No the issue is not resolved. I visited the IBM download site to search for install_nonexclusive.exe but can't find it.
tilburgs
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:11 pm
Full Name: Ton Tilburgs

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Nov 18, 2013 11:55 am

Please, double-check the IBM Tape device drivers (Windows) page. I can’t go any further as it requires me to authenticate :?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby tilburgs » Mon Nov 18, 2013 1:46 pm

Driver downloaded.
Device Manager now Shows expected Driver Information.
Veeam now recognizes the 23 Slots.
Yipeeh!
tilburgs
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:11 pm
Full Name: Ton Tilburgs

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Nov 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Ton,

Great - I am glad you fixed it! Thank you for updating the thread!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby Rommer » Tue Jul 28, 2015 2:04 pm

tilburgs wrote:Driver downloaded.
Device Manager now Shows expected Driver Information.
Veeam now recognizes the 23 Slots.
Yipeeh!


Hi

I have the same problem On the IBM link can I only find drivers for

IBM.Tape.x64_w12_6250
IBMTape.x64_6217
Ibmatl_Library_Driver_for_Windows

None of them seems to work for me. Did you update the IBM medium changer (listed as "Unknown Medium Changer") or the drive listed as "IBM ULT3580-HH6 SCSI Sequential Device" ?
Rommer
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 1:56 pm
Full Name: Jesper Würfel

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby Rommer » Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:36 pm

Found that installing the install_nonexclusive.exe driver from the IBM.Tape.x64_w12_6250 package did the job. Updated both the changer and the tape drive.
Rommer
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 1:56 pm
Full Name: Jesper Würfel

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jul 29, 2015 10:17 am

Yep, to make VB&R work properly with IBM devices non_exclusive drives should be installed. Otherwise, there will be different issues preventing VB&R from leveraging those devices.

Anyway, glad to hear that you've nailed it.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED]: Presenting IBM TS3100 Tape drive to Veeam 8.0

Veeam Logoby xedret » Wed Mar 09, 2016 8:16 am

ID 017221

We have an IBM TS3100 Tape drive and installed the necessary drivers from IBM and base on the forum this driver works IBMTAPE.x64_w12_6250 (non-exclusive.exe). Installed it successfully and seen in the device manager

Image

But can discover tape libraries in Veeam.

Am I missing something?

I'm running on windows 2012 64 bit, veaam 8.0 patch 3 with enterprise plus license
xedret
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:08 am

Re: Backup to IBM's TS3100

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:41 am

Hi,

Please review the thread you've been merged to and double check your case ID - it should contain 8 digits.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests