IBM TS3500 tape import

Everything about backing up to tape

IBM TS3500 tape import

Veeam Logoby blackgate » Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:57 am

Hi,

how can i import my tapes from the VIO Slots, which provided from the ALMS?

thanks
Stefan
blackgate
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:41 am
Full Name: Stefan

Re: IBM TS3500 tape import

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:33 am

Hi, Stefan.

In order to import tape you can select the tape library node under Tapes and click Import Library. Or this doesn’t work for you?

In fact, the current version has been tested with IBM ALMS functionality, and everything seems to work fine. Though, there might be certain issues related to I/O port that are supposed to be fixed in the patch#2. Did you face any?

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: IBM TS3500 tape import

Veeam Logoby blackgate » Fri Oct 11, 2013 11:52 am

Hello Vladimir,

this reports veeam, after tape import:

Code: Select all
11.10.2013 13:22:07          Job started at 11.10.2013 13:22:06
11.10.2013 13:22:30          Found 10 I/E ports
11.10.2013 13:23:36 Error    Importing tape from I/E port 783 to Slot 1028 Error: Unable to move tape from ChangerIEPort14: changer element is empty.
11.10.2013 13:23:36 Error    Job stopped with failures. Name: [Tape import], JobId: [fcdd484f-a8fd-442c-aa4d-8171ead1cbd9] Error: Unable to move tape from ChangerIEPort14: changer element is empty.
11.10.2013 13:23:36 Error    Job finished with error at 11.10.2013 13:23:36


There is a more detailed error description?
IBM ALMS provide 3 Libraries, one of which is for veeam test with an assigned drive and a shared drive with 20 tapes.
blackgate
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:41 am
Full Name: Stefan

Re: IBM TS3500 tape import

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Oct 14, 2013 10:07 am

Seems to be the exact issue I was talking about in my previous post. This sort of issues should be fixed in the next patch. Anyway, kindly, open a ticket with our support team as only they will be able to understand whether or not your problem is the known one and whether there is an easy fix for it.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests