Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
rikH
Service Provider
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: May 22, 2015 1:44 pm
Full Name: RickH
Contact:

Information question renaming media pools

Post by rikH » Jun 01, 2016 12:03 pm

At present we have a number of media pools defined. One of the pools has assigned media onsite and some of the media is now stored as offsite copies. It has now been requested to change name of one of the pools.

If the name is changed will the onsite and offsite media automatically reassign to the new name of the media pool?
Or will the media have to be manually moved to the new name and will this be possible for the offsite media?
I’m assuming the media pool can be renamed by editing the properties of the pool?

Thanks in advance

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9605
Liked: 755 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Information question renaming media pools

Post by Dima P. » Jun 01, 2016 12:31 pm

Hi RickH,

You can rename the media pool by going to the properties and typing the desired name. If should take no effect on the assigned media (tapes remain assigned to the same media pool after it was renamed).

rikH
Service Provider
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: May 22, 2015 1:44 pm
Full Name: RickH
Contact:

Re: Information question renaming media pools

Post by rikH » Jun 01, 2016 12:37 pm

Thanks Dima,
:D
I thought it should be straight forward but I can't test it and it is better to be sure before starting.
rikH

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests