Initialize LTO-7 Media to LTO-8 M

Discussions specific to tape backups

Initialize LTO-7 Media to LTO-8 M

Veeam Logoby taurus1978 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:24 pm

Hello all,

i just did some research on using LTO-7 Media (6TB native) inside a LTO-8 Device an initialize this as an "LTO-8 M" Cartridge. So that native capacity goes up to 9 TB.
The fact is that native LTO-7 Media all use a barcode Label ending with L7. So first you need a new Barcode-Label "M8". Buy this one at your local reseller or distributor ;).
After that the cartridge can be initialized to the new higher capacity. But NOT if it has been initialized as LTO-7 before!
i get the following document from some fellow IBM guys here in germany:

https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/community/wikis/form/anonymous/api/wiki/755cc512-afb1-4f65-88ec-c62fbb6efbd4/page/c3cd6161-9eba-42e9-9d53-bf98b5ce7c83/attachment/364645e7-3250-4e82-b331-0b4fc6f3d985/media/LTO-8%20Type%20M%20FAQ.doc


As stated in the FAQ Doc the M8 cartridges come pre-initialized by the vendor or when inserting brand new cartridges into a LTO-8 compatible Lib.
And initialize them right after inserting them.


any thoughts on this ?

Regards
Patrick
taurus1978
Technology Partner
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 11:51 am
Full Name: Patrick Huber

Re: Initialize LTO-7 Media to LTO-8 M

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:54 pm

Hello Patrick.

Have seen similar answers from Quantum, so documents looks valid for me. Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 8206
Liked: 588 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Initialize LTO-7 Media to LTO-8 M

Veeam Logoby Regnor » Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:02 pm 1 person likes this post

Here's the whitepaper from HPE: https://h20195.www2.hpe.com/V2/getpdf.a ... 948ENW.pdf?

I can give you more information on how it works/worked in the next weeks.
Regnor
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 190
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am

Re: Initialize LTO-7 Media to LTO-8 M

Veeam Logoby Regnor » Wed Jun 20, 2018 2:57 pm

So nothing special to do.
The tapes are labeled with an "M8"-labes, as soon as I insert them into the library they get recognized as "Gen. M8"; Veeam shows 8,2TB usable capacity
Regnor
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 190
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am

Re: Initialize LTO-7 Media to LTO-8 M

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Jun 20, 2018 3:09 pm

Thanks for the heads up. I found the answer to the most popular question related to LTO 8M tape from HPE folks: they confirm that only brand new LTO 7 tape media can be initialize as initialized as LTO 8M. No workaround or hack here unfortunately.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 8206
Liked: 588 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests