Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
taurus1978
Technology Partner
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: May 11, 2015 11:51 am
Full Name: Patrick Huber
Contact:

Initialize LTO-7 Media to LTO-8 M

Post by taurus1978 » Jun 13, 2018 1:24 pm

Hello all,

i just did some research on using LTO-7 Media (6TB native) inside a LTO-8 Device an initialize this as an "LTO-8 M" Cartridge. So that native capacity goes up to 9 TB.
The fact is that native LTO-7 Media all use a barcode Label ending with L7. So first you need a new Barcode-Label "M8". Buy this one at your local reseller or distributor ;).
After that the cartridge can be initialized to the new higher capacity. But NOT if it has been initialized as LTO-7 before!
i get the following document from some fellow IBM guys here in germany:

https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/comm ... %20FAQ.doc


As stated in the FAQ Doc the M8 cartridges come pre-initialized by the vendor or when inserting brand new cartridges into a LTO-8 compatible Lib.
And initialize them right after inserting them.


any thoughts on this ?

Regards
Patrick

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8576
Liked: 634 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Initialize LTO-7 Media to LTO-8 M

Post by Dima P. » Jun 13, 2018 3:54 pm

Hello Patrick.

Have seen similar answers from Quantum, so documents looks valid for me. Thanks.

Regnor
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 232
Liked: 51 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Contact:

Re: Initialize LTO-7 Media to LTO-8 M

Post by Regnor » Jun 15, 2018 3:02 pm 1 person likes this post

Here's the whitepaper from HPE: https://h20195.www2.hpe.com/V2/getpdf.a ... 948ENW.pdf?

I can give you more information on how it works/worked in the next weeks.

Regnor
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 232
Liked: 51 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Contact:

Re: Initialize LTO-7 Media to LTO-8 M

Post by Regnor » Jun 20, 2018 2:57 pm

So nothing special to do.
The tapes are labeled with an "M8"-labes, as soon as I insert them into the library they get recognized as "Gen. M8"; Veeam shows 8,2TB usable capacity

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8576
Liked: 634 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Initialize LTO-7 Media to LTO-8 M

Post by Dima P. » Jun 20, 2018 3:09 pm

Thanks for the heads up. I found the answer to the most popular question related to LTO 8M tape from HPE folks: they confirm that only brand new LTO 7 tape media can be initialize as initialized as LTO 8M. No workaround or hack here unfortunately.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests