Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
rlebras
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 14, 2015 12:32 pm
Full Name: rlebras
Contact:

Insert Tape to Continue... Job freeze

Post by rlebras » Sep 23, 2015 9:54 am

Hello,

I wonder if anyone can help me out on this:
Last night we get a warning "insert tape to continue" although the tape is already in the drive and the tape is not full. Consequently, all our tapes backups jobs have been frozen. I don't know how to resolve this problem today and the next backup session is running soon.
Could you help me please?

NB: I am working with Veeam B&R v8.0 and i have openned a case # 01063475.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5003
Liked: 429 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Insert Tape to Continue... Job freeze

Post by P.Tide » Sep 23, 2015 10:37 am

Hi,

Please specify which options do you have in your Media Pool settings? I mean "Retention" settings.

Thank you.

rlebras
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 14, 2015 12:32 pm
Full Name: rlebras
Contact:

Re: Insert Tape to Continue... Job freeze

Post by rlebras » Sep 23, 2015 11:07 am

Hi Pavel and thank you for your reply,

Today we protect data on tape during 41 days and media set is setting everyday at 7:00pm. Actually and to be more precise, last night, the first backup tape job have run succesfully, the second one have begun and have frozen at 98% and demand to " insert tape to continue" . Consequence : the two next jobs have not run because of this freeze. I don't understand because i am seeing that 2.2TB are available on this tape.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5003
Liked: 429 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Insert Tape to Continue... Job freeze

Post by P.Tide » Sep 23, 2015 11:12 am

Do you have a "Never overwrite data" option checked?

rlebras
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 14, 2015 12:32 pm
Full Name: rlebras
Contact:

Re: Insert Tape to Continue... Job freeze

Post by rlebras » Sep 23, 2015 12:11 pm

No we haven't.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5003
Liked: 429 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Insert Tape to Continue... Job freeze

Post by P.Tide » Sep 23, 2015 1:59 pm

Do you have a standalone drive or a library? What are your "Media Set" settings? What "data protection" settings do you have?

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 790 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Insert Tape to Continue... Job freeze

Post by Dima P. » Sep 23, 2015 2:01 pm

Last night we get a warning "insert tape to continue" although the tape is already in the drive and the tape is not full.
Just to clarify, how many drives you have in the library? Thanks

rlebras
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 14, 2015 12:32 pm
Full Name: rlebras
Contact:

Re: Insert Tape to Continue... Job freeze

Post by rlebras » Sep 23, 2015 2:15 pm

I have just one drive (it is an autoloader) for 1 daily tape.

rlebras
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 14, 2015 12:32 pm
Full Name: rlebras
Contact:

Re: Insert Tape to Continue... Job freeze

Post by rlebras » Sep 23, 2015 2:18 pm

Today we protect data on tape during 41 days and media set is setting everyday at 7:00pm.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 790 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Insert Tape to Continue... Job freeze

Post by Dima P. » Sep 23, 2015 3:12 pm

Can you test it once again? Before you do, make sure:

- VBR is aware of the loaded tapes. Run ‘Inventory Library’ command prior starting the job, to be sure.
- There are free tapes in the media pool, if required, mark tapes as free before the job starts.

Dont forget to share the results. Thanks.

rlebras
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 14, 2015 12:32 pm
Full Name: rlebras
Contact:

Re: Insert Tape to Continue... Job freeze

Post by rlebras » Sep 24, 2015 2:22 pm

Thank you for your help.
The problem is resolved: it was an hardware default on our LTO6 tape.
I didn't understood it because we have not received alerts from our autoloader.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 790 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Insert Tape to Continue... Job freeze

Post by Dima P. » Sep 25, 2015 12:49 pm

Glad you nailed it! If any further issues or questions arise – don’t hesitate asking.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest