Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
antran
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 05, 2018 2:36 am
Full Name: Tran Thanh Linh An
Contact:

Is data compressed when copy the backup from DataDomain to Tape?

Post by antran » Mar 04, 2019 3:22 am

Hi
I am using the backup to tape from Data Domain?
I want to ask how data compressed when copy the backup to tape from DataDomain?
are the following steps correct?
1/ Data will be de-compressed in DataDomain before copy to tape?
2/ Data will be copied with uncompressed to tape
3/ Data will be compressed by Tape itself?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Is data compressed when copy the backup from DataDomain to Tape?

Post by foggy » Mar 05, 2019 5:19 pm

Typically data is stored on deduplicating devices uncompressed (to allow for better dedupe rate). So when you copy data from there it gets rehydrated and written to tape depending on the hardware compression job setting.

jota
Veeam Software
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2019 5:37 pm
Full Name: Jose Luis Gomez
Contact:

Re: Is data compressed when copy the backup from DataDomain to Tape?

Post by jota » Jun 04, 2019 5:38 pm

Hi Alex,

I think that @antran is referring to deduplicated data. So the question here would be:
If using backup to tape from Data Domain, what happens with the deduplicated data when it is copied from DataDomain to the tape ?
Options:
1/ Data will be rehydrated in DataDomain before copy to tape (full hydrated)?
2/ Data will be rehydrated in DataDomain before copy to tape and compressed by tape unit?
3/ Data will be rehydrated in DataDomain before copy to tape and Veeam will deduplicate it?
4/ Data will be copied deduplicated from DataDomain to tape (no compression occurs)?

Just to note that if we use Veeam inline deduplication the data is sent to the tape deduplicated, no rehydratation process is involved.

Thanks,

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16789
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Is data compressed when copy the backup from DataDomain to Tape?

Post by veremin » Jun 04, 2019 7:05 pm

The data be rehydrated on the fly and then compressed by tape unit, if it supports compression. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests