Link up to replacement Tape Drive/SAS card

Everything about backing up to tape

Link up to replacement Tape Drive/SAS card

Veeam Logoby Alan_ORiordan » Thu May 14, 2015 10:03 am

All

I have just had my LTO6 drive and SAS controller card replaced due to a drive fault. Due to Dell sending a half length bracket SAS card the new SAS card was put in a different PCI slot.

Everything looks ok in Windows, the tape drive shows up in device manager etc.

In Veeam however the drive has a no entry sign on it appearing to suggest it is offline, I have tried restarting the veeam tape service and power cycling the drive but it won't come on line. I am thinking that due to the PCI slot change I either have to rescan the tape server or remove the old tape drive from veeam and re-add the drive

Please can anyone offer advise on the best course of action?

Thanks
Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan

Re: Link up to replacement Tape Drive/SAS card

Veeam Logoby Alan_ORiordan » Fri May 15, 2015 8:47 am

Opened a Veeam Support case: 00918711
Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan

Re: Link up to replacement Tape Drive/SAS card

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Sat May 16, 2015 2:58 pm

Have you already tried to rescan the tape server the device is attached to? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Link up to replacement Tape Drive/SAS card

Veeam Logoby Alan_ORiordan » Mon May 18, 2015 8:18 am

Yes, Vladimir, I did that on Friday morning neither a manual re-scan or the automatic ones every 3 minutes pock up the device. Katerina and I have a remote session at 12:00 today.
Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan

Re: Link up to replacement Tape Drive/SAS card

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon May 18, 2015 9:14 am

Ok, let's wait for the results of it. Chances are, the root cause along with the solution will be found. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Link up to replacement Tape Drive/SAS card

Veeam Logoby Alan_ORiordan » Wed May 20, 2015 1:30 pm

The new device did show up but as a new libaray. I was focusing more on the offline tape device branch. I had to re-import and move the existing tapes into new media pools.
Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan

Re: Link up to replacement Tape Drive/SAS card

Veeam Logoby ccatlett1984 » Thu May 21, 2015 1:30 pm

I know support has a method of "re-pointing" pools and such, for when a tape drive is replaced. I think its database level.
ccatlett1984
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 83
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 5:11 pm
Full Name: Chris Catlett

Re: Link up to replacement Tape Drive/SAS card

Veeam Logoby Alan_ORiordan » Mon May 25, 2015 9:04 am

Thanks, Chris but they didn't mention that to me, perhaps it couldn't be done in my case, anyway the task is now complete manually :(
Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests