LTO7 half capacity

Everything about backing up to tape

LTO7 half capacity

Veeam Logoby broiler1985 » Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:48 am

Hello!

Im using Veeam 7.0.0.871 with an quantum LTO7 tape drive.
Veeam recognizes the tapes with 5.5TB storage when I inventorize the tape drive. That's fine.
But when the backup process starts, the tapes suddenly is round about half the capacity, 2.7TB.
Software-compression is deactivated. If I reformat the tape with the xtalk-tools, it has 5.5TB again.
Is there any option to change format-settings in veeam.
Does anyone had this problem?

Thanks!
broiler1985
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:42 am

Re: LTO7 half capacity

Veeam Logoby smarechal » Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:45 am

Hello,

Why don't use VBR 9 or 9.5?
It works well with LTO7 for me.
smarechal
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried

Re: LTO7 half capacity

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:50 am

Hi broiler1985,

Can you clarify the tape vendor please (media/drive/library)?

P.S. It’s definitely time to upgrade to latest v9.5
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: LTO7 half capacity

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Dec 09, 2016 3:41 pm

The LTO 7 didn't even exist at the time of Veeam Backup and Replication 7, so, there is no guarantee how the given version works with LTO 7, as it'd never been tested against it. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: LTO7 half capacity

Veeam Logoby broiler1985 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:46 am

Hello!

Thanks for the answers.

We're still using VBR 7, as our budget is limited.

Funny thing is that VBR recognizes the tapes properly, but the issue only appears when writing on the tape.
Are there any options for formatting Tapes in VBR?
broiler1985
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:42 am

Re: LTO7 half capacity

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:18 am

No, there is no option for backup server to perceive tapes differently. And since re-formatting tapes with native tools didn't help much, I doubt there is something else we can propose to you. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: LTO7 half capacity

Veeam Logoby broiler1985 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 9:53 am

Hello!

Thanks for your answers. The issue has been resolved.
Using the microsoft-drivers for the tape drive instead of the quantum ones did the trick.
Thread can be closed.
broiler1985
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:42 am

Re: LTO7 half capacity

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Dec 14, 2016 10:13 am

broiler1985,

Thanks for the heads up. By the way, what OS is used for tape proxy role in you case?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: LTO7 half capacity

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Dec 14, 2016 11:00 am

In other words, on what OS does a backup server run (tape proxy role has been firstly introduced in version 8)? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: LTO7 half capacity

Veeam Logoby broiler1985 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 11:53 am

Hi!

VBR runs on Windows Server 2008 R2 with latest updates.

Tape drive is the folowing:
http://www.quantum.com/de/products/tape ... index.aspx
broiler1985
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:42 am

Re: LTO7 half capacity

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:01 pm

broiler1985,

Thanks! Keep in mind that there might be issues with native windows drivers in Windows Server 2016 (in case you are going to upgrade you Windows Server at some point). Do not forget that new version of Veeam B&R is out and it has lots of new tape features and performance improvements
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests