manually move tape out of retired media pool

Everything about backing up to tape

manually move tape out of retired media pool

Veeam Logoby ame » Mon Feb 15, 2016 6:57 am

Hi,

because of tape drive cleaning errors two tapes have been moved to the retired media pool - I am not able to move them to the free pool. Erasing them doesn´t help as well. Is the workaround taking them out of the library, erasing them from the offline tapes and insert them again still actual? This is a really old topic - when will it be fixed? This workaround is not really practicable when your tape lib is not onsite....

Regards
Alex
ame
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:02 pm
Full Name: Alexander Oestringer

Re: manually move tape out of retired media pool

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Feb 15, 2016 11:45 am

You can try to move those tapes out of retired media pool via PowerShell or ask support team to correct the certain property of these cassettes inside product db (IsRetired or something similar).

However, typically we get this sort of information directly from tape device, so it certainly stands to reason to investigate whether those medias are still usable or not.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: manually move tape out of retired media pool

Veeam Logoby ame » Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:43 pm

Thanks, will it be available in future versions?

regards
ame
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:02 pm
Full Name: Alexander Oestringer

Re: manually move tape out of retired media pool

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:49 pm

As I've said, we place a tape to Retired media pool, when a tape device claims that the said media cannot be used any longer.

Therefore, I'm not sure what functionality we should have - ability to supersede decisions done by tape vendor? Thinking about potential consequences, it sounds a bit scary, to say the least.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: manually move tape out of retired media pool

Veeam Logoby ame » Mon Feb 15, 2016 2:21 pm

as I have said veeam moved the tapes to the retired pool because of cleaning issues of the tape drive, so these tapes shouldn´t really be retired.....but anyway I will follow the quick and dirty workaround.

Thanks and regards
ame
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:02 pm
Full Name: Alexander Oestringer

Re: manually move tape out of retired media pool

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Feb 15, 2016 3:56 pm

If tapes were claimed as retired while in reality they were not, you can open a ticket with our support team and let them double check the root cause leading to that - what in particular went wrong with cleaning. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests