[Feature Request] Marking cleaning tapes manually

Discussions specific to tape backups

[Feature Request] Marking cleaning tapes manually

Veeam Logoby b.gahr » Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:38 am

Hi!
I recently had an case (02201649) regarding our cleaning tapes. The library is recognizing them as cleaning tapes without a barcode, but Veeam don't. If i change automatic cleaning from Veeam to the library itself, the tapes are still recognized by Veeam as normal tapes, but the drives would be cleaned.
Can you give us the option to set a tape as cleaning tape in the management console, when there is no barcode on a cleaning tape? Right now, I have to edit the table dbo.Tape.tape_mediums for each cleaning tape I use. Thats pretty .... dangerous :lol:
Maybe theres an API provided by the library which can give Veeam more information about the online mediums..

Library is an Overland Storage NEOs T48

Kind regards,
b.gahr
b.gahr
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 9:07 am

Re: [Feature Request] Marking cleaning tapes manually

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:42 am

The library is recognizing them as cleaning tapes without a barcode, but Veeam don't.

Does backup server treat cleaning tape as normal one or places it in Unrecognized media pool? The latter is expected behaviour. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13856
Liked: 1037 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: [Feature Request] Marking cleaning tapes manually

Veeam Logoby b.gahr » Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:27 pm

They are stored in Unrecognized media pool, so there there won't be any write operations on the tapes (or at least some tries), but Veeam did't use these tapes for cleaning, because they are unrecognized and not labled as cleaning tapes
b.gahr
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 9:07 am

Re: [Feature Request] Marking cleaning tapes manually

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:48 pm

They should are there by design. Is a corresponding check box "Perform drive cleaning automatically" enabled in the library settings? Be aware that cleaning is performed as a part of tape jobs and only when a tape device generates cleaning alert. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13856
Liked: 1037 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: [Feature Request] Marking cleaning tapes manually

Veeam Logoby b.gahr » Tue Jul 18, 2017 1:27 pm

Right now, I don't have any problems. Veeam is configured to perform the the cleaning. The library don't. We have a barcode reader in the library but our cleaning drives are recognized by the library otherwise, because the cleaning tapes don't have a barcode. Without the barcode, Veeam did't mark the tapes as cleaning tapes, so Veeam will never start using them for cleaning and spits errors and warnings. What I did:
I edited the Veeam database table dbo.Tape.tape_mediums and set field "cleaner" from "0" to "1" only at the cleaning tapes. Now they are correctly recognized in Veeam and Veeam uses these tapes automaticly for cleaning. But I don't want to edit the database, just for marking tapes as cleaning tapes.
b.gahr
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 9:07 am

Re: [Feature Request] Marking cleaning tapes manually

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jul 18, 2017 2:08 pm

Cleaning media even without barcode should be recognized by backup server. If that doesn't happen (which seems to be your case), kindly, reach our support team. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13856
Liked: 1037 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: [Feature Request] Marking cleaning tapes manually

Veeam Logoby b.gahr » Tue Jul 18, 2017 2:10 pm

Like I posted in the opening post, I had a case (02201649), which is now closed.
The solution was editing the database....
b.gahr
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 9:07 am

Re: [Feature Request] Marking cleaning tapes manually

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:58 pm

Hi b.gahr,

Thanks for posting the case again and sorry for confusion. We will ask our QA folks to review the case details and identify the root cause. Cheers!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6739
Liked: 482 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest