Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
itops
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2018 4:14 pm
Full Name: juan cruz
Contact:

Media Pools

Post by itops » Feb 28, 2018 1:51 pm

Hello, i have running
2x Backup Servers (A & B)
1x Tape Library attached to server B
1x Data Domain

I've added a tape server on both backup servers. The main backup jobs are running on backupserver A. Just for tests I've run one "backup to tape job" on server A using a Media Pool created at server A and the tape library hosted on server B. When I let server B take control of tape library, veeam backup import the tape used on tape job (server A).
My question is, what happens when the Media Pool used on server A does not exists at backup server B ? Should I replicate Media Pools, or can I move the tape to another media pool on server B? What happens in this case?

Thanks in advance

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8756
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Media Pools

Post by Dima P. » Mar 01, 2018 1:53 pm

Hi itops,

Media Pool cannot be replicated between backup server. However, you can import tape media written by one backup server to another to perform restore (or in case you want to reuse these tapes). Thank you.

itops
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2018 4:14 pm
Full Name: juan cruz
Contact:

Re: Media Pools

Post by itops » Mar 01, 2018 3:34 pm

OK thanks Dimitry

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests