Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
blan
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Bernard Lan

mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by blan »

Hi all,

I need to do demos of Veeam 7 with use of a tape library. I figured it would be nice if I can get a virtual tape library configured in my virtual lab. However I'm having difficulty getting this to work and I'm a newbie to working in Linux. Does Veeam provide support on configuring mhVTL?
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6700 times

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by Gostev »

Hi, Bernard! We do not, as this is not a Veeam product. But check with tsightler, as he used to have pre-built mhVTL-based appliance for demo purposes. Thanks!
tsightler
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2843 times
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Post by tsightler » 1 person likes this post

You can still download the OVF for the appliance at the link below. I'm actually planning to do a significant update to this appliance once Ubuntu 14.04 officially drops in a couple of months. I'm hoping at that point I can just use the built in VTL in tgtd which will simplify the configuration and shrink the size and resources, and everything can be updated with normal apt-get. I'm also thinking it will be faster since it doesn't have to pass data so many times, but for now, the appliance here has proven to be a solid, reliable option for demo purposes.

http://www.sightunseen.org/files/mhvtl.zip

Let me know if you have any questions. By default it emulates an HP MSL2024, but it includes the mhVTL web interface and you can setup whatever you want. You'll also need to have plenty of space for the virtual tapes.
blan
Novice
Full Name: Bernard Lan

Post by blan »

:D :D :D

Great! This is a huge help. I've already imported the OVF.

Thanks!!!
EddyChong
Enthusiast
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Eddy Chong

Post by EddyChong »

Hi tsightler,