Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
blan
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2014 8:55 pm
Full Name: Bernard Lan
Contact:

mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by blan » Feb 24, 2014 9:06 pm

Hi all,

I need to do demos of Veeam 7 with use of a tape library. I figured it would be nice if I can get a virtual tape library configured in my virtual lab. However I'm having difficulty getting this to work and I'm a newbie to working in Linux. Does Veeam provide support on configuring mhVTL?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 23876
Liked: 3210 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by Gostev » Feb 24, 2014 11:56 pm

Hi, Bernard! We do not, as this is not a Veeam product. But check with tsightler, as he used to have pre-built mhVTL-based appliance for demo purposes. Thanks!

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5282
Liked: 2140 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by tsightler » Feb 25, 2014 3:46 am 1 person likes this post

You can still download the OVF for the appliance at the link below. I'm actually planning to do a significant update to this appliance once Ubuntu 14.04 officially drops in a couple of months. I'm hoping at that point I can just use the built in VTL in tgtd which will simplify the configuration and shrink the size and resources, and everything can be updated with normal apt-get. I'm also thinking it will be faster since it doesn't have to pass data so many times, but for now, the appliance here has proven to be a solid, reliable option for demo purposes.

http://www.sightunseen.org/files/mhvtl.zip

Let me know if you have any questions. By default it emulates an HP MSL2024, but it includes the mhVTL web interface and you can setup whatever you want. You'll also need to have plenty of space for the virtual tapes.

blan
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2014 8:55 pm
Full Name: Bernard Lan
Contact:

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by blan » Feb 25, 2014 4:22 pm

:D :D :D

Great! This is a huge help. I've already imported the OVF.

Thanks!!!

EddyChong
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 09, 2013 8:46 am
Full Name: Eddy Chong
Contact:

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by EddyChong » Sep 11, 2014 8:46 am

Hi tsightler,

Just want to check with you is there any update for your demo mhvtl? I've downloaded the current edition and after setting up the ip address, I just get my Veeam backup server (Windows 2012R2) connect to the iscsi target.

I have installed HP tape library and media changer driver (Download from HP, have to install otherwise it couldn't recognize the drive), and at the end Veeam server also manage to see the media changer as HP MSL G3 Series 1068. But it shows 2 drives as empty drives.
Media Library
Image

Drive
Image

Device Manager
Image

Is there anything i still need to configure?

Thank you

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15976
Liked: 1284 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by v.Eremin » Sep 11, 2014 8:54 am

Might be a silly question, but have you tried to inventory a library in order to populate tapes inserted in drives? Thanks.

EddyChong
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 09, 2013 8:46 am
Full Name: Eddy Chong
Contact:

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by EddyChong » Sep 11, 2014 9:48 am

Hi Vladimir,

Yes. I did but finished with errors. "Library does not contain any enabled tape drive"
Image

Is this tested in win2012r2 environment? May be is the driver issue. If that is the case i might bring up a 2008r2 veeam backup server and test.

Thank you

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15976
Liked: 1284 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by v.Eremin » Sep 11, 2014 10:17 am

I would try with different drivers, indeed. Also, I would double-check the connection between library and drives, whether interface are connected correctly, etc. Thanks.

EddyChong
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 09, 2013 8:46 am
Full Name: Eddy Chong
Contact:

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by EddyChong » Sep 11, 2014 10:24 am

Connection has no issue. the interface are very straight forward, same subnet in my lab. I suspect i need to allow my veeam server to connect to mhvtl volume. I'll try that out later. Thanks

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9616
Liked: 755 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by Dima P. » Sep 11, 2014 11:10 am

Hello Eddy,

If you load tape into the drive by mhVTL and then run inventory thru VBR, would the result be the same?

nicklasccs
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 02, 2015 8:22 am
Contact:

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by nicklasccs » Oct 02, 2015 8:27 am

Hi tsightler,

Good day to you

I had downloaded the MHVTL zip file, but I do not know the password. Possible to share the ID & PASSWORD?

Thanks

Nicklas

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5282
Liked: 2140 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by tsightler » Oct 02, 2015 1:50 pm 1 person likes this post

All of the information about the VM, including passwords, is included the description of the VM which you should see when you import the OVF or view the VM in the vCenter client after it's important. The root password was "mhvtl" and the MHVTL web interface I believe was "mhvtl" for both the user and password.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9616
Liked: 755 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: mhVTL setup and configuration

Post by Dima P. » Oct 02, 2015 3:29 pm

Yup, checked - all the info is displayed in the VM's notes.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests