Minor buggette?

Everything about backing up to tape

Minor buggette?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Fri Jun 10, 2016 1:56 pm

Not a major issue by any means but a minor niggle I just discovered that you may not be aware of.

I just noticed that one of my jobs was named with incorrect case (e.g. started with Bir-... when I meant to start it BIR-...). When I edited the job just to rename it (yes, I'm fussy about such consistency :) it wouldn't let me saying something to the effect of "A job with this name already exists" so I had to change it to an interim name (BIIR-...) then back to the desired name.

Minor bug but still a little annoying as I'd expect the interface to be aware that I'm editing the job in question.

(Posted in the tape board simply because it happened to be a tape job but assume same behaviour for all jobs).
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Minor buggette?

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Jun 10, 2016 2:43 pm

Hi,

I have not managed to confirm that in my lab. Do you mean that editing the job's name from, let's say, "Name1" to "NAME1" gave you an error stating that "NAME1" job already existed whereas you don't have one? If do then I suggest you to open a case with support so they can confirm the described behaviour.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Minor buggette?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Fri Jun 10, 2016 3:07 pm 1 person likes this post

My apologies, I confused myself! :-/

The described behaviour is actually when renaming a MEDIA POOL, not a job! - DOH! ;-)

[Edit: Actual error is "Media pool with the same name already exists. Please choose a different name."]
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Minor buggette?

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Jun 10, 2016 3:28 pm 1 person likes this post

Confirmed with QA team - it's a known bug.

Thanks!
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Minor buggette?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Jun 10, 2016 4:30 pm

Thanks!

P.S. Rename life hack:

Change ‘nAme’ to ‘anyothername’ and save
Change ‘anyothername’ to ‘Name’ and save :wink:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Minor buggette?

Veeam Logoby DaveWatkins » Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:17 pm

To add a very similar little niggle, when renaming a job in a similar fashion, it completes Ok, but it doesn't also update the Repository folder name which stays with the incorrect case.
DaveWatkins
Expert
 
Posts: 252
Liked: 61 times
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:33 pm

Re: Minor buggette?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Sun Jun 12, 2016 2:34 pm

Dima P. wrote:Thanks!

P.S. Rename life hack:

Change ‘nAme’ to ‘anyothername’ and save
Change ‘anyothername’ to ‘Name’ and save :wink:


That was my workaround indeed :)
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests