Move tapes to new tape library after the original fails

Everything about backing up to tape

Move tapes to new tape library after the original fails

Veeam Logoby bd1984 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:59 pm

Hello people,

We are useing latest version of Veeam Backup & Replication. I'm trying to find more information in case the tape library of the client fails and is unrepairable, so we have to replace with an new tape library. Is it possible to move the existing tapes with backup data to an identical or a new tape library or what is the procedure for this? Does veeam has to change something in de database?
bd1984
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:48 pm
Full Name: Bayram Donmez

Re: Move tapes to new tape library after the original fails

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:25 pm

Hi bd1984,

Sure, it’s possible. Tape library is assigned to a Media Pool but can be swapped with another device when required. Tapes in such case should be loaded into new library and you are good to go.

Check this article for more details.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Move tapes to new tape library after the original fails

Veeam Logoby bd1984 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:13 am

Hello Dima P,

Thankyou for your reply. Is the back-up data on the tapes retained and are the tapes usable for the excisting back-up to tape jobs? In the following forum post you describe this: tape-f29/moving-tape-media-from-pool-associated-replaced-tape-drive-t21434-15.html


Thanks for sharing the case ID. I believe, you can do the following:

- Remove the affected tapes from the catalogue. It will force VBR to "forget" those tapes but wont erase the data
- Delete the media pool, since it’s not operational any longer
- Import tapes to the library. All previously written tapes will appear in the “Imported” media pool. You would not be able to continue the media sets on these tapes but you will be able to perform restore if you need.

Need to say that this importing issue and drive replacement case is carefully handled in the upcoming v9 version thanks to new Global Media Pool feature.

Can this be done in a different and easier way in the latest Veeam version? Like u described in the following article https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95.
bd1984
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:48 pm
Full Name: Bayram Donmez


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: v.Eremin and 5 guests