Discussions specific to tape backups
mpozar
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Drive

Post by mpozar » Apr 14, 2014 7:54 am

Hi,
We have a customer that has a SINGLE IBM LTO External Tape Drive under which Tape Media Pools were setup and then Backup Jobs were created and run using this media.
The Tape Drive then died and was replaced under Warranty but now all the Tape Media is still showing under the OLD Tape Drive which is now OFFLINE.
I understand that the Media sets are LINKED to the tape drive it was created under but my question is how do I get the Tape Media and associated Tapes across to the NEW Tape Drive without Removing the Tapes from Inventory and then deleting the Media Sets under the OFFLINE Tape drive and then recreating the Tape Media Sets under the NEW tape drive and then having to Inventory all the tapes and then add them to the relevant Tape Media Pool?
Is there an easier way to do this? I've read through the Manual but cannot see anything covering this topic..


Have FUN!
Michael Pozar

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by v.Eremin » Apr 14, 2014 9:13 am

Since media pool is associated with tape device (library/drive), it seems that that, apart from manual inserting and inventorying/cataloging tapes, there is no easy way to move media pool from one drive to the other.

You can always open the ticket with our support team; may be, they are aware about the database tricks that will help you to correlate the previously created media pool with the new device.

Thanks.

mpozar
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by mpozar » Apr 15, 2014 9:23 am 1 person likes this post

Thanks for your response.

When I informed the customer he was NOT impressed but we went out to the customer at no charge and sorted it out for them so they are happy for now.

Is this likely to change in future releases of Veeam?

Veeam should allow the setup of a user defined device name to which you can then link the physical tape device and then the Tape Media is defined against the user defined name. If a tape drive fails and is replaced all that would be required is that the OLD drive is unlinked and the NEW drive is then linked to the user defined device name and everything is ready to go again. Don't know if this would be possible but would make every bodies life easier in this kind of situation.


Have FUN!
Michael Pozar

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by v.Eremin » Apr 15, 2014 9:34 am

I can only say that for now there is a tight correlation between tape device and its media pools. These forums are thoroughly monitored for potential features/improvements. So, I would like to say thank you for your feedback; much appreciated.

Thanks.

smallsheep
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 07, 2014 11:14 am
Full Name: Matthew O'Brien
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by smallsheep » May 13, 2014 11:17 am

I've also experienced exactly this issue with the replacement (RMA) of a failed tape drive. Due to the Media pool being tied to the now offline drive I'm looking at a customer site visit to re-label and re-inventory all the tapes. It would be really useful to be able to move tapes between media pools or move media pools between tape drives.

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8576
Liked: 634 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by Dima P. » May 14, 2014 10:40 am

Matthew,
You experienced such behavior with standalone drive, right?

gregransom
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 04, 2014 3:50 am
Full Name: Greg Ransom
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by gregransom » Aug 04, 2014 3:58 am

Having exactly the same issue here.

Just replaced a faulty LTO5 Single Tape Drive and yes, all the old media pools and associated tapes are now stuck under the Offline tape drive.
This is really poor planning.

Hand up who has had a failed Tape Drive - probably a resounding "We all have".
Every other backup program I have used has allowed you to move media pools and tapes. It's the tapes in the media pools which are important not the physical tape drive.
Really, Veeam, this should be an easy feature fix.

So, I too will be left with having to cycle through my tapes re-labelling to the freshly created new media pool on the new tape drive. I'm glad we only just started and have little in the way of historical archive tapes.

In a DR situation you may well be restoring using an alternative tape drive in anycase.

Greg.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by v.Eremin » Aug 04, 2014 9:04 am

Hi, Greg,

As far as I'm aware, support team has a workaround for this issue that includes changing library ID inside product database. So, you can contact them and let them match the previously-created media pools to the newly-added library.

Thanks.

sibinsam
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 64
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Nov 03, 2014 5:31 am
Full Name: Sibin Sam
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by sibinsam » Mar 03, 2015 12:47 pm

If we move the media pools by using the database script will the historical information about the data on the tapes be lost? Will we be able to run the Veeam One tape report and get the information about which tapes to insert into the library for specific backups?
Do we have to run any kind of re catalog or inventory for the moved tapes?

Also when we select a tape backup and start the restore wizard it prompts us to input the required tapes to complete the restoration process. Will Veeam show the tape numbers on the wizard after moving the media pools?

Details about the tape libraries:

LTO4 tape library which is not connected anymore to Veeam physical server. Tapes are marked as 000001, 000002, etc.

Newly added LTO6 tape library: Tapes are marked as 000001L6, 000002L6.
Imported LTO4 tapes are shown as 000001L4, 00000L2 etc.

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8576
Liked: 634 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by Dima P. » Mar 04, 2015 9:34 pm

Hello,
If we move the media pools by using the database script will the historical information about the data on the tapes be lost?
Honestly, I would rather import the media written by old drive, and then leave it in the imported pool. Once they are retired – erase them thru the UI and add to the new media pool. If you've received the script workaround from support team, kindly, double-check on their side what functionality could be affected.
Also when we select a tape backup and start the restore wizard it prompts us to input the required tapes to complete the restoration process. Will Veeam show the tape numbers on the wizard after moving the media pools?
This information is added to each tape metadata, so even if you load the media to the new B&R tape the next needed media for restore operation will be requested anyway

20100
Enthusiast
Posts: 72
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2012 9:23 pm
Full Name: qq
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by 20100 » Mar 05, 2015 1:42 am 1 person likes this post

Hi

We have been in the same situation a few days ago when we had the tape library replaced and had to manually recreate everything.

Could the "support workaround" be published please?
If we need to replace the tape drive after hours, etc, it might take up too long to get hold of support to get the info.

Hopefully the ability to move pools and tapes from one library to another will be implemented in a future patch/version as it is a common situation(too common to my liking!!)

Cheers

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by v.Eremin » Mar 05, 2015 9:26 am

Could the "support workaround" be published please?
Unfortunately, not, as it modifies product internal database. Being applied wrongly, the script might result in severe issues. Thus, it's distributed only via support tickets.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by v.Eremin » Mar 26, 2015 1:02 pm 2 people like this post

Follow-up:

The mentioned script changing library IDs inside product database is not used by support team any longer. For those facing similar problems it's recommended to open a ticket with the support team and letting them decide regarding further necessary steps: be it removing tapes from UI and doing re-inventory, or re-creating everything from scratch (the worst case).

Thanks.

futureweb
Enthusiast
Posts: 67
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Sep 03, 2015 12:15 am
Full Name: Patrick
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by futureweb » Sep 15, 2015 4:08 pm

We are in evaluation Veeam and faced this situation by partitioning the msl2024 which changed the library name and thus broke the relation. Will v9 settle this behaviour, as you wrote, multiple library support, so that you can switch Media Pools to new libraries?

Thanks
Patrick

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Moving Tape Media from Pool Associated Replaced Tape Dri

Post by v.Eremin » Sep 15, 2015 5:13 pm

See my answer in the adjacent thread. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests