Multiple Tape library issue

Everything about backing up to tape

Multiple Tape library issue

Veeam Logoby apurva » Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:36 am

Hi All,

If I have 2 tape library attach to a tape server then tape of 1 library is not recognizable by another library. Why it is so?
Secondly if I want upgrade to new library then what will happen to old tape?
apurva
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Full Name: Apurva Kumar

Re: Multiple Tape library issue

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:05 am

Hi apurva,

What tape drive generations you have in both libraries? Was that tape barcode labeled?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Multiple Tape library issue

Veeam Logoby apurva » Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:49 am

Hi Dima,

Both the library are having LTO6 tape drives and the tape are barcoded.

My second question is of more concern that what will happen if I replace the old tape library with new one? As simple media pool is tied to tape library and once library is removed, the pool gets offline along with all the tapes. What is procedure to restore from these tape? I hope it is not to import the media in new library, as it will take 4 to 6 hours per tape if it is LTO6?
apurva
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Full Name: Apurva Kumar

Re: Multiple Tape library issue

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:23 pm

Hi apurva,
Sorry for keeping silence.
Both the library are having LTO6 tape drives and the tape are barcoded.

Then this behavior is unexpected. Generally, you can share the same tape between tape libraries without any issues. Tape should be exported from once device via VBR console and then loaded to another device. You should see this tape under second library > media > online.
As simple media pool is tied to tape library and once library is removed, the pool gets offline along with all the tapes. What is procedure to restore from these tape? I hope it is not to import the media in new library, as it will take 4 to 6 hours per tape if it is LTO6?

Should be easy. Just change the tape device in media pool properties and remove the old one. Tape media and catalogue info should remain untouched. Take a look at this article for more details
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Multiple Tape library issue

Veeam Logoby twano » Mon May 08, 2017 9:07 am

Hi Dima,

We have the same problem. We use Veeam 9.5.0.823 and tapes are LTO6
We have 2 libraries in 1 media pool. Tapes used by library 1 are unrecognized by library 2
Also when restoring from tape one has to use the same library as was used to backup the files.
Is this a bug?
twano
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:36 am
Full Name: Twan van Oers

Re: Multiple Tape library issue

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon May 08, 2017 2:09 pm

Assuming global media pool is in use and both libraries have the same LTO generation, the described problems should not appear. Can you reach our support team for further investigation?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Multiple Tape library issue

Veeam Logoby twano » Wed May 10, 2017 8:51 am

We use simple media pool. With global do you mean a GFS pool?
twano
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:36 am
Full Name: Twan van Oers

Re: Multiple Tape library issue

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu May 11, 2017 7:14 pm

By global I'm referring to single media pool spanning across multiple libraries, which seems to be the case in your environment. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests