No tapes Quantum Scalar i40

Everything about backing up to tape

No tapes Quantum Scalar i40

Veeam Logoby Penzi » Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:40 am

Hello everyone,

actually we try the Backup Software Veeam.
So far, it works fine and it’s a great tool. Unfortunantely we still have a problem with our tape drive. It’s a Quantum Scalar i40. It’s connected to the physical Server with SAS.

Veeam detects the drive. We can do a copy job to the tape, too. But we don’t see our tapes. Veeam shows only one tape which we load into the drive directly.

I also tried to get a solution from Quantum or Veeam, but they couldn’t (or didn’t) want to help me.

The server is new, no Backup Exec or anything else. Maybe it’s only the wrong driver but I didn’t find any other working.

Hoping for help…
Penzi
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:38 am

Re: No tapes Quantum Scalar i40

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Aug 11, 2015 11:29 am

Hello Penzi ,

Please make library's changer does not appear as "Unkown medium changer" under windows device manager. To avoid this - make sure you have the vendor drivers installed instead of the default ones.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: No tapes Quantum Scalar i40

Veeam Logoby Penzi » Tue Aug 11, 2015 11:47 am

The tape library is shown in device manager as "Hewlett Packard LTO Ultrium-6 drive".

The driver is "Hewlett Packard, Date: 08.07.2013, Version 1.0.7.2"
Penzi
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:38 am

Re: No tapes Quantum Scalar i40

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:36 pm

That’s for the drive and what about Meduim Changer devices? Your library, if I am not mistaken, should contain one changer and some drives, right?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests