Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Everything about backing up to tape

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:43 am

Correct.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Veeam Logoby joob77 » Mon Dec 08, 2014 9:28 am

Hi,

Is the above still valid? I use Veeam 8 along with hp msl4048 tape unit. And is see that my backup job is using only one drive. I expected it'll use both the drives...

Thank you for answering!

Greetz,
Joost Brenters
CNV
joob77
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 9:18 am
Full Name: Joost Brenters

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:36 am

Yes, you need to use different media pools for different drives.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Veeam Logoby joob77 » Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:22 pm

ok, thanks for answering. I'll go with that then.

Grtz,
Joost
joob77
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 9:18 am
Full Name: Joost Brenters

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Veeam Logoby rklingaman » Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:50 pm

Just thought I would post here to see this behavior changed. Upgraded to the latest version 8 and trying to move away from my old tape software and while I can manage separating the media pools I really shouldn't have to and hope that this will be changed soon.
rklingaman
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 6:18 pm
Full Name: Ryan Klingaman

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:23 pm

Ryan,
We are doing our best provide such functionality in the upcoming releases.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Veeam Logoby tym » Sat Apr 18, 2015 7:54 pm

can two drives be used simultaniously with one media pool, when the first does a backup, and the 2nd does a restore?
tym
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 83
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:30 pm
Full Name: Tim Diekhans

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Apr 20, 2015 5:50 pm

Tim,
can two drives be used simultaneously with one media pool, when the first does a backup, and the 2nd does a restore?

It is possible in case the files you want to restore donot reside the tape taken for backup job and there is at least one free drive
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Veeam Logoby winnt » Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:10 pm

Is this still the case? Do we still have to separate our backup jobs to use separate media pools in order to use multiple tape drives? Thanks.
winnt
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 9:19 pm
Full Name: J D

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:22 am

Yep. However, according to the plan, version 9 should improve current situation. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Previous

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests