Discussions specific to tape backups
jimbliss
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 24, 2013 2:09 pm
Full Name: James Bliss
Contact:

Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by jimbliss » Aug 24, 2013 2:19 pm

I have an MSL8096 with 2 FC LTO 4 drives. Everything seems to be working fine, except the backup to tape jobs (15) only use one drive. Shouldn’t it use both as they are separate jobs?

If I run a tape erase job it will use the unused drive while a backup to tape job is running.

Thanks,
Jim

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5420
Liked: 2243 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by tsightler » Aug 24, 2013 9:07 pm

In the current implementation you can only use both drives if you use two different media pools and assign each job to a media pool.

nunciate
Expert
Posts: 183
Liked: 25 times
Joined: May 21, 2013 9:08 pm
Full Name: Alan Wells
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by nunciate » Aug 27, 2013 1:38 am

Are you really telling me I can't use 1 media pool for all my daily incremental backups and 1 for my weekly full backups? If I have to split my jobs up among multiple pools so I can target the 4 tape drives I have I will potentially use way more tape than I would if I just had a single pool that could use all available drives. I have to say I am extremely disappointed with how tape out was implemented. You all needed a lot more time to get this done right. It is almost unusable at this point with all the work arounds and Macgyvering I have to do just to get things to tape. Not to mention that every time I run a backup it uses the full tape backup pool to perform my incremental backups. Even though I have specified to use a different pool. I am quite frustrated at this point. This implementation was a big fail and a black eye for an otherwise excellent product.

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5420
Liked: 2243 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by tsightler » Aug 27, 2013 2:00 am

I would suggest opening a support case regarding the issue with your jobs not properly using full and incremental tape pools as I have not seen this specific issue during any of the vendor tape testing that I have done or in the lab setup that I have so I'm not sure what could be causing that.

Regarding your feelings on the current tape support, I think it's only fair to point out that tape support is actually very complex, and most companies that have been doing tape support have done so for more than a decade so they have spent many years developing their solutions around media management and pooling. On the other hand this our our version 1.0 for this capability, and much of the feedback to this point has been excellent. Certainly there are many areas of improvement that are needed, but I think that's fully expected with the release of such a feature. I can assure you that future versions will continue to address the issues like this that customers report to us, and your feedback is appreciated.

sonicasuk
Enthusiast
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 16, 2012 8:38 am
Full Name: a
Contact:

[MERGED] : using more that 1 tape drive

Post by sonicasuk » Sep 16, 2013 10:44 am

Hi guys,

just a quick question, i have moved over to use the veeam backup to tape and it works perfectly. the only issue that i have is with the old backup software we were able to utilise both tape drives in our backup uint, Hp msl4048.

i have opened a case with veeam but thought it would also be an idea to post the question here as well.
support ticket #00445490

i hope it is possible ??
kind regards

Sonic

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by veremin » Sep 16, 2013 10:57 am

As mentioned above, with the current implementation you have to use different media pools in order to utilize several drives simultaneously. Thanks.

sonicasuk
Enthusiast
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 16, 2012 8:38 am
Full Name: a
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by sonicasuk » Sep 16, 2013 11:38 am

do you have an eta as to when this will be possible, at the moment the backups are taking longer than normal ( with 2 drives).

i understand that other software providers have a head start when it comes to tape backups, but i would like to use veeam for our data to tapes but this may not be possible seeing that the backup time bascically doubles because we dont have access to the 2nd drive.

is it possible to give me some advice with regards to configuring the media pools so that i can utilize both drives.

basically we have a reasonably large backup (400-500 vms) first they are written to disk and then these are copied to tape.

i have 1 media pool for the tapes that i use for the data to disk.

any help would be appreicated. i think this is going to be a pain to arrange.

many thanks
regards
sonic

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by veremin » Sep 16, 2013 11:58 am

I assume you have more than one backup job in your environment, right? If so, you will have to create two different media pools (one per drive), as well as, two different “backup to tape” jobs and split existing backup jobs between them. Thanks.

sonicasuk
Enthusiast
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 16, 2012 8:38 am
Full Name: a
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by sonicasuk » Sep 16, 2013 12:57 pm

Thanks for your quick response,

Ill have a play with the configuration and see what i can arrange,

many thanks for your help.

regards

sonic

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by veremin » Sep 16, 2013 1:09 pm

You’re welcome. Should any additional help be needed, don’t hesitate to let us know. Thanks.

sigmaos
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 20, 2011 2:23 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] : Multi LTO

Post by sigmaos » Oct 11, 2013 8:20 am

Hi all,

Veeam can handle multiple drives simultaneously ?


Thks !


Sig'

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by veremin » Oct 11, 2013 8:24 am

Yes, but you have to use different media pools – one per drive. Thanks.

raymond.mui
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Oct 18, 2013 3:52 am
Full Name: Raymond Mui
Contact:

[MERGED] Dual tape drives

Post by raymond.mui » Oct 29, 2013 2:19 am

We are using an HP MSL 2420 Tape Library, with a single tape drive. Technically, adding one more tape drive to the library reduces the backup time.

May I ask if Veeam backup to tape function is able to utilize both tape drives at the same time? Or in what way?

Thanks.

Raymond

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Dual tape drives

Post by veremin » Oct 29, 2013 4:02 am

Yep, it can. But for now you will have to create to different media pool and assign them to different drives; this way, VB&R will be able to utilize two drives simultaneously.

Thanks.

raymond.mui
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Oct 18, 2013 3:52 am
Full Name: Raymond Mui
Contact:

Re: Dual tape drives

Post by raymond.mui » Oct 29, 2013 4:08 am

So, different drives can only be used by different jobs simultaneously, right?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by foggy » Oct 29, 2013 5:43 am

Correct.

joob77
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 14, 2014 9:18 am
Full Name: Joost Brenters
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by joob77 » Dec 08, 2014 9:28 am

Hi,

Is the above still valid? I use Veeam 8 along with hp msl4048 tape unit. And is see that my backup job is using only one drive. I expected it'll use both the drives...

Thank you for answering!

Greetz,
Joost Brenters
CNV

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by foggy » Dec 08, 2014 11:36 am

Yes, you need to use different media pools for different drives.

joob77
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 14, 2014 9:18 am
Full Name: Joost Brenters
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by joob77 » Dec 08, 2014 12:22 pm

ok, thanks for answering. I'll go with that then.

Grtz,
Joost

rklingaman
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 22, 2010 6:18 pm
Full Name: Ryan Klingaman
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by rklingaman » Jan 13, 2015 10:50 pm

Just thought I would post here to see this behavior changed. Upgraded to the latest version 8 and trying to move away from my old tape software and while I can manage separating the media pools I really shouldn't have to and hope that this will be changed soon.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10539
Liked: 858 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by Dima P. » Jan 13, 2015 11:23 pm

Ryan,
We are doing our best provide such functionality in the upcoming releases.

tym
Enthusiast
Posts: 83
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mar 26, 2015 9:30 pm
Full Name: Tim Diekhans
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by tym » Apr 18, 2015 7:54 pm

can two drives be used simultaniously with one media pool, when the first does a backup, and the 2nd does a restore?

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10539
Liked: 858 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by Dima P. » Apr 20, 2015 5:50 pm

Tim,
can two drives be used simultaneously with one media pool, when the first does a backup, and the 2nd does a restore?
It is possible in case the files you want to restore donot reside the tape taken for backup job and there is at least one free drive

winnt
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 03, 2015 9:19 pm
Full Name: J D
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by winnt » Aug 28, 2015 9:10 pm

Is this still the case? Do we still have to separate our backup jobs to use separate media pools in order to use multiple tape drives? Thanks.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by veremin » Aug 31, 2015 10:22 am

Yep. However, according to the plan, version 9 should improve current situation. Thanks.

DeBoom
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 05, 2018 11:19 am

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by DeBoom » Jan 05, 2018 11:28 am

I'm not sure if this is still up to date, but I also have a question.

While backing up on one drive, I want to use the second drive to also back up data, the second backup job is in another media pool. However, while the backup is working on the first drive, I can not access the second drive.

Does someone know what the problem is. We're using version 9.3x.

Thanks for the help

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by veremin » Jan 05, 2018 1:37 pm

We're using version 9.3x.
There is no such product version. Are you probably talking about 9.5 Update 3?
However, while the backup is working on the first drive, I can not access the second drive.
Can you tell us how those pools are configured?

nathano
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 56
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 05, 2016 5:08 am
Full Name: Nathan Oldfield
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by nathano » Sep 12, 2018 6:18 am

Has this been changed yet? Using 9.5 U3 and still looks like 2 tape jobs using the same media pool will not use multiple drives. looks like the second job is going to wait for the first job to finish. looks like you still need to use a different media pool.

fingers crossed for update 4 :-)

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10539
Liked: 858 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by Dima P. » Sep 12, 2018 11:18 am

Hello Nathan,
Using 9.5 U3 and still looks like 2 tape jobs using the same media pool will not use multiple drives
Can you please elaborate? Parallel processing for tape drives was introduced long ago (moreover you can span multiple backup chains across multiple tape drives within one tape job). Thanks.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Only one drive used in a multi drive library

Post by veremin » Sep 12, 2018 3:22 pm

How many concurrent tasks have you specified in media pool settings? Aren't you probably talking about GFS media pool, by any chance? Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests