Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
ar952
Novice
Liked: never

Planning a Tape Infrastructure

Post by ar952 »

So basically I am a tape newbie :D
I am not new to Veeam in general and I am using the products for some time now but I did not yet implement anything with tape.

Now I have to implement a tape infrastructure.
Normally I am working with SOBR and S3 storage.
I already took a look at the documentation and it is kind of overwhelming at first.

I would like to buy the required hardware to test everything in a lab environment first.
Therefor I have to get the sizing right.
I thought about a tape loader which is sufficient for one tape and the tape is switched daily.
So I have to store a full backup on every tape, right?
Is this a recommended approach in general?

How fast do you typically write to a modern tape?
And how do I calculate the amount of storage - based on compressed or uncompressed capacity?

We got an infrastructure consisting of one Hyper-V host (which is also the B&R server) hosting some Windows Server VMs and some Linux/Windows Agents deployed via B&R.
One full backup of all resources is approx. 8 TB right now.

Thank you very much for your thoughts :)
Mildur
Product Manager
Liked: 2294 times
Full Name: Fabian K.

Re: Planning a Tape Infrastructure

Post by Mildur »

Hi ar952

Welcome to the forum.
If you want to try out our Tape features before buying hardware, I can only recommend using a VTL first in your lab. It will allow you to get familiar on how our tape jobs are working.
One of the VTLs is quadstore: https://quadstor.com/
https://jorgedelacruz.uk/2018/10/16/vee ... to-deploy/
I thought about a tape loader which is sufficient for one tape and the tape is switched daily.
So I have to store a full backup on every tape, right? Is this a recommended approach in general?
Daily Fulls to tape doesn't work in all cases. I suggest using a GFS media Pool with weekly and daily incremental.