Using tape as a backup target
Post Reply
MaxDes
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 27, 2021 3:47 pm
Full Name: Marc Vist
Contact:

Protect Symbol Greyed out and Cannot do anything with tape?

Post by MaxDes »

Anyone seen this before?

Wanted to post a picture, but basically I can't do anything with the tape except inventory or catalogue. No marking as free, erasing, or changing media pools...

Mildur
Veeam Legend
Posts: 1508
Liked: 621 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Protect Symbol Greyed out and Cannot do anything with tape?

Post by Mildur »

Do you have hardware protection enabled on the tape?
It‘s a switch on the tape itself.

You can check in powershell if the hardware protection on the tape is enabled.

Code: Select all

get-vbrtapemedium | ft name,protected* -a
VMCE 9 | Veeam Legends 2021
Working with Veeam since 2017 for a VCSP in Switzerland

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 12934
Liked: 1231 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Protect Symbol Greyed out and Cannot do anything with tape?

Post by Dima P. »

Hello Marc,

Looks like a cleaning tape, can you please check? Thanks!

jsquires
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 20, 2021 4:09 pm
Full Name: Jerry Squires
Contact:

Re: Protect Symbol Greyed out and Cannot do anything with tape?

Post by jsquires »

I actually had a similar situation recently. I too thought that I had the hardware switch flipped and that was why VBR would not allow any interaction with the affected tape.

I pulled the tapes out of the library to verify, and, they were not write protected.

After they were reinserted into the library, what fixed them was doing an inventory on the tape. It updated the tape markers that the write protection was off and at that point I could use the tape again.

MaxDes
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 27, 2021 3:47 pm
Full Name: Marc Vist
Contact:

Re: Protect Symbol Greyed out and Cannot do anything with tape?

Post by MaxDes » 1 person likes this post

Not a cleaning tape. it has a backup already on it.

Ill see about the command and physically checking the tape.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests