Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958432

Everything about backing up to tape

Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958432

Veeam Logoby nick_j_bacon » Thu Jul 02, 2015 9:16 am

Hi Everyone,

Just installed a new SuperLoader3 and getting the following error:
Code: Select all
02/07/2015 10:10:30          Processing started at Thursday, July 02, 2015 10:10:28 AM
02/07/2015 10:10:33          Drive 0 (Drive ID: Tape0) locked successfully
02/07/2015 10:10:35 Error    Failed to inventory tape in Drive 0 (Drive ID: Tape0) Error: Tape positioning error: Tape error: '87' (The parameter is incorrect.)
02/07/2015 10:10:39          Unloading tape NFM814L6 from Drive 0 (Drive ID: Tape0) to Slot 1

This is followed shortly afterwards by a BSOD. We had been running with a standalone LTO6 drive without any problems.

I've also tried erasing the tapes as support have suggested even though they are brand new. Running out of ideas at this point.
nick_j_bacon
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:17 pm
Full Name: Nick Bacon

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Jul 02, 2015 2:36 pm

Hello Nick,
Last time I saw this error - it was resolved by updating the drive firmware and the windows driver. Can you check if that helps?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6494
Liked: 452 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby nick_j_bacon » Fri Jul 03, 2015 11:42 am

That was my first port of call. Drive and loader both running the latest firmware. I've also now tested with our old backupexec 2012 server and can carry out inventory and short erase without any problems. I'm just doing a long erase and then I'll move the hardware back to our Veeam server and retest.

Also doing a search and destroy on the drivers to ensure there are now older/incorrect versions installed.
nick_j_bacon
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:17 pm
Full Name: Nick Bacon

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jul 03, 2015 11:51 am

Aren't there any Symantec remnants that might prevent VB&R from working properly with that device, such as services, drivers, etc.?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13540
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby nick_j_bacon » Fri Jul 03, 2015 1:12 pm

The Backupexec server is different tin. I moved the SAS card & autoloader across to test. I am beginning to wonder if I'll need to do a complete rebuild of the server next week to test 'fresh' with a vanilla install of 2008 R2.
nick_j_bacon
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:17 pm
Full Name: Nick Bacon

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:09 pm

It might be worth doing so just to be on the safe side. However, continue investigation with support team is also a good idea. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13540
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby nick_j_bacon » Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:10 am

So I rebuilt the server yesterday from scratch and retested. Sadly the same problem. Inventory job fails and then about a minute later the machine BSODs. Beginning to run out of ideas on this one.
nick_j_bacon
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:17 pm
Full Name: Nick Bacon

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jul 07, 2015 11:09 am

Have a support engineer come to any conclusion in regards to potential root cause so far?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13540
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby nick_j_bacon » Tue Jul 07, 2015 1:35 pm

Nope, sadly no progress yet.

Everything I have tried seems to lead back to Error 87 whenever VEEAM tries to access the tape drive. It can see the loader locally or remotely (In this case I installed on our old backupexec server which uses it's own drivers) and it will load a tape without any problem. Then the error message appears and a BSOD follows shortly afterwards (Interestingly this doesn't happen when the loader is attached remotely, I just get the error message).

I've also noticed that the loader never gets locked by the VEEAM software and VEEAM has no idea what size the tapes are.

Support have asked me to erase a tape directly from the loader front panel but there's no option for this.

Getting rather despondent about this as I'll have to revert back to our stand alone drive while I look at alternates to VEEAM.
nick_j_bacon
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:17 pm
Full Name: Nick Bacon

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby nick_j_bacon » Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:08 pm

Some more info

*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for QLTOx64.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for QLTOx64.sys
***** Kernel symbols are WRONG. Please fix symbols to do analysis.

debug analysis of the crashdump.

Time to get Quantum support involved - sadly it takes 72 hours to register on their support website.
nick_j_bacon
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:17 pm
Full Name: Nick Bacon

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jul 07, 2015 5:07 pm

Thanks Nick. Actually, I’ve found another case where the drive was replaced by the vendor (the symptoms were identical), so contacting Quantum support might be a good idea.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6494
Liked: 452 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby nick_j_bacon » Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:22 am

I'm about ready to give up on this. Autoloader works in 2008 R2 and 2012 R2 with other software. Only Veeam seems to dislike it. I've tried local and remote configurations.
nick_j_bacon
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:17 pm
Full Name: Nick Bacon

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:22 pm

Nick,
Any word from Quantum support?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6494
Liked: 452 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Quantum Superloader 3 failing to Inventory. Case # 00958

Veeam Logoby Cookci » Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:09 pm

I have the same problem.

Latest drivers installed on super loader 3 and lto7.

Is there a fix for this please?
Cookci
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:05 pm
Full Name: Christian Cook


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests