Restore from tape

Everything about backing up to tape

Restore from tape

Veeam Logoby Dr.Gerry » Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:24 am

I need to restore some files from a vbk that has been moved to tape. I have run the import to bring the vbk file back from the tape to the repository. I can see the vbk file in Windows Explorer, however, in Veeam, when I go to backups\disk\imported I can't see the restore points from that vbk. I have tried a rescan of the repository, but apart from that I am completely lost! What am I doing wrong?
Dr.Gerry
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:32 am
Full Name: Gerry Locke

Re: Restore from tape

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:37 am

Gerry,

What steps did you perform to restore the tape to the respository?
Did you tried to directly restore? (Restore directly to the infrastructure or Restore through the staging repository) or did you used Backup Restore from Tape to Repository?

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3151
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Restore from tape

Veeam Logoby Dr.Gerry » Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:16 am

Hi Mike,

In the Backup and Infrastructure area I highlighted Tape in the upper left hand pane. I then clicked Restore\Tape\Restore Backups, clicked Add VM\From Backups, selected the backup that I needed and let the job run. At the end of it I could see the vbk file had been restored and was available on disk, in the same folder as all the other non-archived-to-tape-yet vbk and vbi files.

Gerry
Dr.Gerry
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:32 am
Full Name: Gerry Locke

Re: Restore from tape

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:30 am

Gerry,

From what I can see it looks like you did it right (or I might miss something) so please create a support call. Post the case ID and resolution after that here also. It might be something we are overlooking or there might be something wrong also. But only the logs will be able to give that information
Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3151
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Restore from tape

Veeam Logoby Dr.Gerry » Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:14 am

OK.....will do. First I have to log a case. I have logged a number of them in the past, but now, when I enter my support ID I get a message telling me that 'only license and designated case administrators can open support cases....', so I guess it might be a little while before I can actually open the case..!
Dr.Gerry
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:32 am
Full Name: Gerry Locke

Re: Restore from tape

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Jun 20, 2017 3:49 am

Gerry,

Who is owning the contract in your company? That will probably be your license and case administrator. If you are not certain, talk to your local Veeam representative so he/she can assist you with this

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3151
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests