Retired Tapes

Everything about backing up to tape

Retired Tapes

Veeam Logoby emad » Wed Oct 19, 2016 8:24 am

Hello, everybody
I have a problem related to tapes that some tapes became retired after while though it still have big free space .
Could anyone help me ?
emad
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:33 am
Full Name: Emad Yehia

Re: Retired Tapes

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Oct 19, 2016 9:15 am

Hello Emad,
Could you describe how much space do you have left on the tapes and what vendor is that?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Retired Tapes

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:08 am

Retired state of tape doesn't have anything to do with a free space. Tape is moved to Retired Media Pool when drive/library instructs a backup server that media has become unusable and has to be taken out of service. Thanks
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 969 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Retired Tapes

Veeam Logoby emad » Thu Oct 20, 2016 12:10 pm

Shestakov wrote:Hello Emad,
Could you describe how much space do you have left on the tapes and what vendor is that?
Thanks!


Hello Shestakov,
Thanks for the reply
All tapes that i have are HP with 1.4 TB storage, some of them who went retired have 1.3 TB free space and others are between 500 GB & 400 GB free space.
emad
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:33 am
Full Name: Emad Yehia

Re: Retired Tapes

Veeam Logoby emad » Thu Oct 20, 2016 12:18 pm

Hello Eremin,

what do you think should be done to retrieve tapes back to its predefined pool
emad
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:33 am
Full Name: Emad Yehia

Re: Retired Tapes

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Oct 20, 2016 12:22 pm

Why do you want to continue using tapes that have excessive number of errors associated with them? Retired tape typically should not be used for backup operations any longer (just for restoration ones). Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 969 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Retired Tapes

Veeam Logoby emad » Thu Oct 20, 2016 12:30 pm

Because i have large numbers( 5 out of 8 ) of tapes that were moved to retired pool.
So should i buy more tapes every time i got retired tapes even if those retired tapes still have a large free space that it is not used?
emad
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:33 am
Full Name: Emad Yehia

Re: Retired Tapes

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Oct 20, 2016 1:02 pm 1 person likes this post

So should i buy more tapes every time i got retired tapes even if those retired tapes still have a large free space that it is not used?

Correct. Actually, amount of free space left doesn't matter here, what matters is the fact that drive manufacturer thinks about those tapes as the ones that should not be used any longer, unless you want to face corrupted, unrestorable backups at some point of time.

I believe you can move those medias out of retired media pool by tweaking product database or using PowerShell scripting. However, please, before doing that think about undesired consuquences that such decision might have.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 969 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests