Set a Tape to IsExpired = True

Discussions specific to tape backups

Set a Tape to IsExpired = True

Veeam Logoby berndbaum » Thu Apr 12, 2018 7:54 am

Hello everybody,

is there a possibiliy to set a tape to 'expired' ?
I think it is not possible in the GUI and also not with a power shell command.

Does anybody know how to do this ?

Thank you

Bernd
berndbaum
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 7:49 am
Full Name: Bernd

Re: Set a Tape to IsExpired = True

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:17 am

Hi and welcome to the community Bernd!

I believe its not possible both via UI and PS, but may I ask why you need this functionality? Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7944
Liked: 570 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Set a Tape to IsExpired = True

Veeam Logoby berndbaum » Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:52 am

Hi, i need this to test my script.
I need the script to send a list of expired tapes to our VTL, a Fujitsu CentrcStor.
The VTl recycles the Tapes, that must be done because the VTL doesn't know which Tapes can be recycled.

Because the shortest Period for retention is one day i must wait one day for the tapes to be expired.
I can shorten the retention time when i set the tapes manually to 'expired'
berndbaum
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 7:49 am
Full Name: Bernd

Re: Set a Tape to IsExpired = True

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Apr 12, 2018 4:40 pm

Bernd,

Thank you for the explanation. If that is VTL and tape media is emulated why you cannot delete the emulated tape media from disk, then remove these tapes from Veeam B&R catalog and load new emulated media to Veeam B&R?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7944
Liked: 570 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests