Sharing tape drive with HP Data Protector

Discussions specific to tape backups

Sharing tape drive with HP Data Protector

Veeam Logoby gingerdazza » Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:18 am

Hi. We have a tape drive that is already used by HP Data Protector. Is it wise/supported/possible to also use this tape drive with Veeam?
gingerdazza
Expert
 
Posts: 124
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza

Re: Sharing tape drive with HP Data Protector

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jan 21, 2016 12:47 pm 1 person likes this post

It is not possible to share the library between two different solutions unless it supports hardware partitioning.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16157
Liked: 1288 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] sharing tape library

Veeam Logoby sc211166 » Wed May 31, 2017 2:33 pm

Hi , I'd like to know if it's possible to share a tape library with another backup software
We have a tape library with 8 slots and we'd like reserve 4 of them for a backup software and 4 to veeam
is that possible ?
Thanks
sc211166
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 1:11 pm

Re: Sharing tape drive with HP Data Protector

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed May 31, 2017 4:00 pm

Only if tape library has partitioning feature. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14582
Liked: 1092 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Two tape servers on a single library

Veeam Logoby andre.simard » Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:18 pm

Hi,

is it possible to have 2 tape servers working on a single library with 4 drives without partitioning the library?
I currently have 2 physicals proxy and i want to connect both to the library and avoid send hundred terabyte of data across the LAN to a single tape server.

thank you
andre.simard
Service Provider
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 8:07 pm

Re: Sharing tape drive with HP Data Protector

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:01 am

is it possible to have 2 tape servers working on a single library with 4 drives without partitioning the library?

No, it is not, unless you partition the library. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14582
Liked: 1092 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andrew.yurkovic, KiwiJJ and 7 guests