Slot missing

Everything about backing up to tape

Slot missing

Veeam Logoby 2hammewr » Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:31 am

Hello,

I recently installed Veeam B&R 8 Update 2 on a physical server directly attached to a HP MSL4048 Tape library. Since the beginning I had a lot of issues in inventorying tapes (tapes won't return in the right slot, problems detecting the barcodes, ...).
I'm planning on replacing all tapes since the actual ones were used with our former backup tool (BackupExec) and I hope It will fix the issues I encounter.

But in the mean time one slot gone missing. It happened while I was doing an Inventory Veeam logs said something like "marking as a cleaning cartridge" and the slot #33 disappeared from the Online media list. I thought Veeam doesn't handle the drive cleaning functionality yet ...

So my question is : How can I untag the slot #33 as the cleaning tape and put the #48 instead ?
2hammewr
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:04 pm

Re: Slot missing

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:01 pm

Benjamin, try to replace the tape in this slot and rescan the library, the slot should appear back in the list.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Slot missing

Veeam Logoby 2hammewr » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:41 pm

OK I'll try that and let you know.

However, How can I set a specific tape as a "cleaning cartridge" ? It seems there's no such option in Veeam.
2hammewr
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:04 pm

Re: Slot missing

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:49 pm

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Slot missing

Veeam Logoby 2hammewr » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:56 pm

So Veeam can set a tape as a "cleaning tape" itself but the admin can't ? It's not possible to unset it even with powershell ?
2hammewr
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:04 pm

Re: Slot missing

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Sep 09, 2015 1:45 pm

We can't see a tape slot. A cleaning tape gets automatically recognized, but indeed you can't make this recognition yourself. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Slot missing

Veeam Logoby 2hammewr » Thu Sep 10, 2015 12:30 pm

foggy wrote:Benjamin, try to replace the tape in this slot and rescan the library, the slot should appear back in the list.


Hello,

I replaced the tape #33 and still no success. I can't see the slot #33 in the online media list and it seems that the library inventory itself is excluding the tape analysis (switching from slot 32 to slot 34).

Any other leads ?

Thanks
2hammewr
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:04 pm

Re: Slot missing

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Sep 10, 2015 7:51 pm

It's high time, then, to open a support ticket and let support team investigate it directly. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Slot missing

Veeam Logoby 2hammewr » Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:19 pm

Hi !

I replaced all the tape yesterday and all seems to be working fine now.

I'll open a ticket if the previous issues I encountered occurs again.

Thanks.
2hammewr
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:04 pm

Re: Slot missing

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Sep 15, 2015 2:07 pm

Glad to hear that you're up and running. Kindly, keep us updated. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests