Discussions specific to tape backups
danatk
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 24, 2013 8:58 am
Contact:

Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by danatk » Oct 24, 2013 10:05 am 1 person likes this post

We have Veeam 7 working with the Spectralogic T50e library (great little library by the way).

We couldn't get it to work at first, but after some experimentation we managed to get it going - just wanted to share this:

- Update to the latest spectra firmware using their package system

- Use the IBM ITDT tool to update drive firmwares to latest version

- Use the IBM installer to update the windows drivers for the tape drives, use the 'Non-Exclusive' mode installer

- The 'unknown medium changer' will appear in windows device manager, this doesn't work with Veeam - you need to download the Spectralogic medium changer driver from Spectra's website.

- Once you have the spectra media changer showing, create a new partition on your T50e and configure it as Quantum P7000 emulation - this is the trick we needed to get everything working nice and stable. Without this emulation mode the library would keep going offline randomly.

Hope this helps someone, and if anyone has any other tips for the Spectra library + Veeam please share...

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by v.Eremin » Oct 24, 2013 10:17 am

You’re right.The device being showed correctly in Device Manager and usage of vendor-provided Windows drives is a requirement for Veeam tape functionality. Also, some of the users have already reported requirement of using non_exclusive for IBM tape drivers.

Anyway, thank you for sharing useful information regarding special trick that make Spectralogic device work properly; much appreciated.

ShawnKPERS
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Apr 29, 2011 3:55 pm
Full Name: Shawn Nix
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by ShawnKPERS » Nov 12, 2013 9:46 pm

I just wanted to say thank you as this was a huge help getting our T50e working. Without your recommendations I was able to see the library but did not have the option to import tapes from the media loader.

Chris@SCI
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 04, 2014 7:01 pm
Full Name: Chris Trotter
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by Chris@SCI » Feb 04, 2014 7:05 pm

Registered just to post this - thanks a ton for providing that info! Spectra Logic support rep had never even heard of Veeam. Hehe, even the Veeam guy wasn't aware of this.

As a side note, I haven't done the new partition yet - I wonder if that 'randomly offline' issue is due to the resync stuff Veeam has for the tape drives as default (in the user guide).

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by v.Eremin » Feb 05, 2014 8:47 am

As a side note, I haven't done the new partition yet - I wonder if that 'randomly offline' issue is due to the resync stuff Veeam has for the tape drives as default (in the user guide).
Hi, Chris,

VB&R does perform regular tape drive/library scan. However, I'm not sure whether this is a root cause of corresponding library going offline.

Fortunately, in emulation mode everything seems to be working fine.

Thanks.

lightsout
Expert
Posts: 207
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by lightsout » Apr 10, 2014 4:26 pm

danatk,

Thanks for the info, its been helpful, but I've been unable to stop the random offline issues on my T50e. Can I ask:

1. Is your FC or SCSI connected?
2. What version of Windows are you using?
3. Is it LTO-6 based?
4. Did you use soft addressing?
5. Anything else you can think of that'd help!

Thanks!

ShawnKPERS
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Apr 29, 2011 3:55 pm
Full Name: Shawn Nix
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by ShawnKPERS » Apr 14, 2014 11:55 am 2 people like this post

After running on V7 with the T50e for the last 6 months using Danatk's advice things ran smooth most of the time but I too also ran into the random offline issues even with the partition set to Quantum P7000. I have spoken with Veeam and Spectralogic's support and they recommended to update the tape drive firmware and windows drivers. I thought this was a cop out answer but it did get me to think when rereading Danatk's post, did I use the `non-exclusive` drivers the first time I set it up. Not 100% sure but I made sure I did this time and I have been running it for a week now with no issues. That was not abnormal but I will keep an eye on it and if I remember I will post an update letting everyone know if I ever ended up running into any issues.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by v.Eremin » Apr 14, 2014 3:29 pm

Most likely, the problem doesn't have to do with exclusive/non-exclusive drivers, as you have been archiving backups to tapes successfully for about 6 months. If it had been about drivers type, you would have got various issues much sooner.

So, I recommend you taking a look at how it goes for some time, and raising the issue with support, if it shows up again.

Thanks.

lightsout
Expert
Posts: 207
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by lightsout » Apr 16, 2014 9:15 pm

ShawnKPERS wrote:After running on V7 with the T50e for the last 6 months using Danatk's advice things ran smooth most of the time but I too also ran into the random offline issues even with the partition set to Quantum P7000. I have spoken with Veeam and Spectralogic's support and they recommended to update the tape drive firmware and windows drivers. I thought this was a cop out answer but it did get me to think when rereading Danatk's post, did I use the `non-exclusive` drivers the first time I set it up. Not 100% sure but I made sure I did this time and I have been running it for a week now with no issues. That was not abnormal but I will keep an eye on it and if I remember I will post an update letting everyone know if I ever ended up running into any issues.
I've done:

1. The library firmware.
2. The drive firmware.
3. The non-exclusive drivers.

Nothing has helped...

Can I just ask, which Windows version are you using? We're using Server 2012....

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by v.Eremin » Apr 16, 2014 10:06 pm

I'm wondering whether you started having issues all of a sudden or you just couldn't make it work. In the latter case, is the spectra media changer shown properly in Windows Device Manager? Thanks.

lightsout
Expert
Posts: 207
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by lightsout » Apr 17, 2014 12:49 pm

v.Eremin wrote:I'm wondering whether you started having issues all of a sudden or you just couldn't make it work. In the latter case, is the spectra media changer shown properly in Windows Device Manager? Thanks.
I've got a ticket open on it 00529622 - but for me, it has never worked. I've got two Veeam servers, and two Spectra libraries and they both go offline randomly.

So I'd like to isolate what is different between my system and the rest, as other people seem ok with it.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by v.Eremin » Apr 17, 2014 1:06 pm

The proper emulation mode (Quantum P7000 emulation) has helped people previously to solve random "library going offline" issues with Spectralogic T50e.

So, I'm not sure what might be wrong in your particular case. Most issues we've seen so far with tape functionality are more or less environmental specific. Probably, the support team will be able to find the root cause, once the confirm your environment.

Thanks.

danatk
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 24, 2013 8:58 am
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by danatk » Apr 24, 2014 11:22 am

Quick update on our progress with the T50e and Veeam.

For the most part, it is working OK. The steps I posted at the start of this thread are still working for us and the tape library doesn't go offline.

However, we do have issues with Veeam losing track of which tapes are in certain slots/drives. We think we nailed this down to the Spectra auto-cleaning moving tapes but not notifying Veeam, so Veeam then found tapes in drives etc that it didn't expect and jobs failed.

To resolve this, we turned off the auto-cleaning, which seemed to work but then we have to manually clean the drives which is a real pain.

Our latest experiment is to configure the Veeam jobs to eject the tape after every job, and have re-enabled the auto-cleaning to see if this combination works better. We still seem to be having some problems but not as bad as before.

Ideally, we would like to see a cleaning job feature in Veeam so that only Veeam is running jobs on the library. This would surely be much more stable.

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8589
Liked: 634 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by Dima P. » Apr 24, 2014 1:00 pm

Hello,
Thank you for the great feedback!

We are looking at the opportunity to implement both slots handling and some cleaning media additional care in the upcoming versions of the tape service. Meanwhile, we have to take care of major features so I can’t really say when this functionality would be provided.

lightsout
Expert
Posts: 207
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup to Spectra Logic T50e

Post by lightsout » Apr 28, 2014 9:30 pm 1 person likes this post

I will say I found a solution for me as well. Between Veeam & Spectra, we found some registry keys for both Veeam and the IBM tape drivers, and between them they've fixed. Library is nice and stable now.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 12 guests