Switching from repo to tape to job to tape

Everything about backing up to tape

Switching from repo to tape to job to tape

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Wed Aug 03, 2016 9:06 am

I send a copy job to a remote repository and I wanted to copy the remote copy files to remote tape library.

For some reason I could only manage it by creating a "repository-to-tape" style job at the time whereas I now see that I can select the job itself after all. I've been running it for a few weeks.

If I edit the existing job by removing the repository object & replacing it with the backup job (which is still stored in that same repository), is Veeam clever enough to realise that it already has the bulk of the data on tape & so will just continue writing incrementals to tape, or will it treat it as a full/first run so want to write the "latest chain" to tape?
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Switching from repo to tape to job to tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Aug 03, 2016 10:53 am

It should be clever enough not to backup what is already in catalogue (previously backed up data). Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13295
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Switching from repo to tape to job to tape

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Wed Aug 03, 2016 10:58 am

OK thanks, well I've switched it over now so will know tomorrow... :)
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Switching from repo to tape to job to tape

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Thu Aug 04, 2016 12:21 pm 1 person likes this post

I'm happy to confirm that the edited job did indeed just pick up the incremental files last night.

Thanks again...
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Switching from repo to tape to job to tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:05 pm

Thank you, Paul, for taking your time to update the topic with the results of your findings. We do appreciate that.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13295
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests