Tape and Off Host Proxy

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape and Off Host Proxy

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 6:31 pm

I was told that in order to do copy jobs off to tape, the tape drive and the Veeam server had to be physically connected. What if I run a Hyper-V guest that is the Veeam server and connect a physical Off host proxy machine to the tape drive, would that allow me to utilize the tape drive? Or do I need the actual Veeam server physically connected to the tape drive? If that is the case then I assume no configuration using tape would be virtualized in a cluster. Any clarification would be helpful!

Cheers!
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Tape and Off Host Proxy

Veeam Logoby 4c7 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:23 pm 1 person likes this post

If you manage to virtualize a server accessing tape you can go for it (I'm pretty sure you won't be able to do that with Hyper-V, but you can do that with VMWare if you present a physical HBA to a virtual machine exclusively). But you can connect any physical server to a tape drive and install Veeam agent on it (Veeam agent will "talk" to the tape). So that means "yes" and "no" depending on what you call Veeam server. You don't have to install Veeam Backup and Replication on a server for it to "talk" to tape, but you have to install Veeam agent instead.

If I understand your idea of design properly: short answer is Yes. Long answer is above.
4c7
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: 4c74356b41

Re: Tape and Off Host Proxy

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:24 pm

Ok, for clarification when I said Veeam server I was referring to the actual Backup and Rep software, so as long as the agent is installed on a physical machine it will work. That is what I needed clarified.

Cheers!
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Tape and Off Host Proxy

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:03 am

Yep, it will work as long as the said server has a tape server role installed on it. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape and Off Host Proxy

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Jul 03, 2015 3:02 pm

gent is installed on a physical machine it will work

...physical Windows machine :wink:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests