Tape changer alert

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby rauer » Mon Aug 26, 2013 12:23 pm

Hey there!

i did get the following message at the beginning of my backup:

Tape changer alert: "The tape drive has a Problem with the application Client Interface: "

After the ":" there is nothing.

I don't know what to think about this, or what i have to do?

The Tape library worked fine with BUE.

The Backup seems to running normal. I can't already tell, because 14 TB take their time, and no tape change of the robot has yet been necessary
rauer
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:56 pm
Full Name: Rafael A

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:02 pm

Hi, Rafael. We haven’t seen the similar issue so far, thus, kindly, open a ticket with our support team and let them investigate it directly. Also, don’t forget to update the topic with support case number, so that, we can follow your case and update the topic, once the resolution is found.Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby rauer » Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:07 pm

Hi!

I will wait for the backup to finish, check the eventlog, and than open a ticket!
rauer
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:56 pm
Full Name: Rafael A

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:16 pm

As far as I know, you might also get the aforesaid error when the drive has identified an interface fault. And you should check the cables and cable connections and/or restart the operation. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby jdfort » Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:40 pm

I'm having this issue as well. Are support tickets permitted for people running the timed demo of Enterprise Plus Edition?
jdfort
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:36 pm
Full Name: Jeff Fortna

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:37 pm

Yes, even if you're on a trial, we do provide technical support to help you with the evaluation.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] : Tape Libary

Veeam Logoby bschaart » Mon Sep 02, 2013 9:34 am

Hello,

when i use tape backup de job is succesvol but turns out this error message

Tape changer alert: The tape drive has a problem with the application client interface:

gr bas
bschaart
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:22 am
Full Name: Bas Schaart

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Sep 02, 2013 9:56 am

Bas,

Please contact our support team regarding this issue. Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6253
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 02, 2013 10:02 am

As mentioned above, one of the reasons might be a device interface fault. So, it might be worth examining the conditions of the cables/connections or restarting operation.

Anyway, the best way to address any technical issue is to open a ticket with the support team and let them investigate it directly. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby rauer » Mon Sep 02, 2013 10:17 am

I figured out, i only get the error, when i use tapes with veeam for the first time.

Tape sets already used, don't produce this error.

Strange. So, the error does not appear again at the moment, because i have used all tapes now for one time.
rauer
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:56 pm
Full Name: Rafael A

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby wvd » Mon Sep 09, 2013 10:27 am

Same issue here. First time job runs with new tapes:
9/8/2013 10:00:15 AM :: Tape changer alert: The tape drive has a problem with the application client interface:
When I restarted the job it ran without a problem.

HP 1/8 G2 SAS LTO-5 tapelibrary
wvd
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:54 pm

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby garybone » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:19 am

I get this error every day when the job is run for the first time. any subsequent jobs and restarts work just fine.
garybone
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:41 am
Full Name: Gary Bone

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:24 am

Gary, please contact technical support as it definitely worth investigation.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1082 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby RMullis » Fri Sep 27, 2013 7:01 pm

I move 6 tapes into the specific media pool & performed a short erase. Unfortunately I am getting the same error. The funny thing is it looks as though the job is still running. When I click on the first job in list it says the backup job completed successfully, even though it is not done yet.

Any other ideas or thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Rick
RMullis
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:45 pm
Full Name: Rick Mullis

Re: Tape changer alert

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Sep 30, 2013 8:41 am

Rick, nobody in this thread has shared his support case ID so far, so I cannot track whether there is any resolution/workaround for this error. Please open your own case so that support could review your deployment and job logs. It would be much appreciated if you could post the case ID here for further tracking. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1082 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests