tape clone possible?

Everything about backing up to tape

tape clone possible?

Veeam Logoby gustavouehara » Thu Jun 29, 2017 3:13 pm

In my backup structure once a month , the last full of the month it's coppied to tape "backup to tape".
because of legal compliances , I need two copies of this tapes and one copy with long retention.
Veeam support a cloning tape function?


thank you
gustavouehara
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:34 pm
Full Name: gustavo uehara

Re: tape clone possible?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jun 30, 2017 8:07 am

Nope, we don't support that. Thinking about your scenario, have you thought about having two backup to tape jobs: regular (short-term retention) and GFS (long-term retention) ones?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13543
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: tape clone possible?

Veeam Logoby gustavouehara » Mon Jul 03, 2017 7:57 pm

v. Eremin thank you for your support
maybe in next release Veeam support it
gustavouehara
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:34 pm
Full Name: gustavo uehara

Re: tape clone possible?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jul 04, 2017 11:45 am

Just to set proper expectations. So far we have not received a lot requests to justify the development efforts. So I'd not expect to see this feature in the foreseeable future. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13543
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: tape clone possible?

Veeam Logoby skrause » Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:14 pm

v.Eremin wrote:Nope, we don't support that. Thinking about your scenario, have you thought about having two backup to tape jobs: regular (short-term retention) and GFS (long-term retention) ones?


While that works for getting the data onto two different tapes for a DR scenario, because it uses two jobs the file names/timestamps on the tapes will be different. I know that in some compliance situations, that won't fly because the data has to be exact copies. Thus why cloning (or some form of being able to send the same backup file to two tapes within the same job) might be a necessary feature for some.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 306
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: tape clone possible?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Wed Jul 12, 2017 1:58 pm

I haven't tried it myself but I'd have thought if you have two tape jobs both configured with the same source backup job, providing you complete the second copy to tape before the source backup (to disk) job starts its next pass, then the only thing copied to tape would be the most recent version which would be identical?
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 506
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: tape clone possible?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jul 12, 2017 2:45 pm

Correct.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13543
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests