Using tape as a backup target
Post Reply
JackT
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 25, 2022 2:44 pm
Full Name: Jack T.
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Tape Deletion and Re-Addition

Post by JackT »

Hi,
Could anyone tell me how to delete tapes and then re-add them to the media pool please?
Thanks

chris.childerhose
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 325
Liked: 70 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Re: Tape Deletion and Re-Addition

Post by chris.childerhose » 1 person likes this post

You could mark the tapes as FREE and then erase them. Once done then add them back into the media pool required. Some more information on media pools, etc. - https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110
-----------------------
Chris Childerhose
Veeam Vanguard / Veeam Legend / Veeam Ceritified Architect / VMCE
vExpert / VCAP-DCA / VCP6 / MCITP
Personal blog: https://just-virtualization.tech
Twitter: @cchilderhose

JackT
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 25, 2022 2:44 pm
Full Name: Jack T.
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Tape Deletion and Re-Addition

Post by JackT » 1 person likes this post

Thank you, I'll follow the steps in the article

chris.childerhose
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 325
Liked: 70 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Re: Tape Deletion and Re-Addition

Post by chris.childerhose »

Not a problem and let us know how it goes.
-----------------------
Chris Childerhose
Veeam Vanguard / Veeam Legend / Veeam Ceritified Architect / VMCE
vExpert / VCAP-DCA / VCP6 / MCITP
Personal blog: https://just-virtualization.tech
Twitter: @cchilderhose

JackT
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 25, 2022 2:44 pm
Full Name: Jack T.
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Tape Deletion and Re-Addition

Post by JackT » 1 person likes this post

We are in a situation where it says there is no more space in the media pool one day, and the next it works fine. We have 9 in there already and we want to find and wipe the broken ones to be reused afterwards. How do you wipe the tapes completely?

chris.childerhose
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 325
Liked: 70 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Re: Tape Deletion and Re-Addition

Post by chris.childerhose »

If you use the Erase function in Veeam that will do it for you and then add them to the FREE pool.
-----------------------
Chris Childerhose
Veeam Vanguard / Veeam Legend / Veeam Ceritified Architect / VMCE
vExpert / VCAP-DCA / VCP6 / MCITP
Personal blog: https://just-virtualization.tech
Twitter: @cchilderhose

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests