Tape Drive Empty (Case #00891566)

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape Drive Empty (Case #00891566)

Veeam Logoby AndyF » Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:07 pm

Hi all,

I have a windows server 2008 standard server that runs Veeam 8 (on latest patch) that accesses an LTO5 drive (HP LTO-5 Ultrium 3000 Ext) and BE 2010 R3 (on latest patch) that accesses an LTO3 drive.

This has been working perfectly for months. Today Veeam is now showing the LTO5 tape drive as empty but BE 2010 shows it as loaded. If I stop all BE services Veeam then shows the drive as loaded when I do an inventory.

How can I fix this? Veeam uses only the LTO5 drive and BE should only use the LTO3 drive. I've tried disabling the LTO5 in BE with no avail.

Thanks,

Andrew
AndyF
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 8:39 am

Re: Tape Drive Empty (Case #00891566)

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Apr 28, 2015 10:30 pm

Hello Andrew,
Is it one library with multiple drives or two separate standalone drives?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape Drive Empty (Case #00891566)

Veeam Logoby AndyF » Wed Apr 29, 2015 5:59 am

Hi, 2 separate drives
AndyF
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 8:39 am

Re: Tape Drive Empty (Case #00891566)

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Andrew,
Thanks! And the said drives are added to both VBR and 3rd party software, correct?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape Drive Empty (Case #00891566)

Veeam Logoby AndyF » Mon May 04, 2015 9:23 pm

Correct
AndyF
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 8:39 am

Re: Tape Drive Empty (Case #00891566)

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon May 04, 2015 9:28 pm

Got it. Presenting one device to multiple backup solutions may cause issues, when one solution locks the device and another is trying to access it at the same time. I suggest excluding one device from Veeam and another from 3rd party software.

Another option would be to play with tape rescan timer by setting the regkey described in the KB article: Prevent Veeam from locking tape drives
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests