Tape Error handling

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape Error handling

Veeam Logoby gmorris » Wed Mar 18, 2015 8:58 pm

I have come across a few times where Veeam has problems writing to a tape,
I have opened a support case [ID# 00832713] and they recommend submitting a feature request to change the tape error handling.

Basically The tape job failed with Tape positioning error, all following jobs using that Media pool failed also, because it keeps trying to use the same tape. I formated the tape and the jobs then ran ok.
Tape error handling needs to be improved so that one tape error does not affect all jobs and it will try more than one tape.
Also tape jobs do not have any option to retry if they fail.

thanks,

Glen
gmorris
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 2:46 am
Full Name: Glen Morris

Re: Tape Error handling

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:57 pm

Hello Glen,
Can you elaborate why the specific tape media was causing issues? Was it used by other vendor before?

Generally, I like the idea of corrupted media being skipped by all tape jobs and of course, we will add the retry functionality in next versions, thanks for pushing.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape Error handling

Veeam Logoby gmorris » Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:46 pm

I am not sure why Veeam had an issue with the tape, the tape is new, Most of the time this happens the tape library [IBM TS3100 with 2 LTO 6 drives] reports the drive needs cleaning [auto cleaning is setup]. After formatting the tape Veeam does not have problems writing to the same tape.
Previously we used Backup Exec [similar but older tape library] it too requested cleaning occasionally but jobs never failed like this.
It would be nice if Veeam has issues backing up to tape to mark the tape as bad and then try a new tape.
gmorris
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 2:46 am
Full Name: Glen Morris

Re: Tape Error handling

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:57 pm

Glen,
Thank you for the clarification - it is a good request and I’ll discuss it with the team. Cheers.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests