Tape Exchange Issue

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape Exchange Issue

Veeam Logoby 4c7 » Wed Jun 10, 2015 5:53 am

So... I believe nothing I've tried so far in Veeam just works... sigh.
I'm trying to move backup to tape. The backup size is 5tb. I'm using MSL 4048. No matter what I do backup always fails with "Tape not exchanged. Library locations are out of sync. Please run the inventory. Tried to load tape 46, but tape 10 was loaded instead". I've tried running inventory, it didn't help.
I guess this is the last problem I'm willing to try to fix, if it doesn't work out, I'll just stick with Symantec.
I'm using 8.0.0.2029. Latest MSL 4048 drivers and firmware.
4c7
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: 4c74356b41

Re: Tape Exchange Issue

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:14 am

The typical reason for the mentioned error is manual tape exchange executed from tape device interface. If you're positive that no one has done it, please, open a support ticket and let them investigate it directly. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape Exchange Issue

Veeam Logoby 4c7 » Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:35 am

I don't know if my actions helped or a miracle. it works (or at least seems to work) now. I've rebooted the library (again), did library inventory, did veeam inventory. allocated different set of tapes.
4c7
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: 4c74356b41

Re: Tape Exchange Issue

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Jun 18, 2015 5:49 pm

Hey 4c7,
Thanks for the update.
tape 46, but tape 10

May I ask why are you using this library in the blind mode? It should have a barcode reader, if I am not mistaken.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape Exchange Issue

Veeam Logoby 4c7 » Mon Jun 22, 2015 8:23 am

Yeah, It does have that, but no barcodes on tapes. And I don't have time for that right now, sadly.
4c7
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: 4c74356b41

Re: Tape Exchange Issue

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jun 22, 2015 12:05 pm

4c7,
Huge difference from the tape management perspective - test it once you have a chance and you won’t regret it :wink:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape Exchange Issue

Veeam Logoby 4c7 » Thu Jun 25, 2015 9:07 am 1 person likes this post

It is on my todo list after I delete Symantec and migrate veeam to physical server.
4c7
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: 4c74356b41


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests