Tape Export: The indicated element does not exist

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape Export: The indicated element does not exist

Veeam Logoby mcsmithSOP » Thu May 12, 2016 2:49 pm

I am unable to export tapes from the UI due to the following error:
Job stopped with failures. Name: [Tape export], JobId: [2f8df7de-ef71-4781-8fc0-211704c9170a] Error: The indicated element does not exist.

DeviceIoControl(ChangerGetElementStatus) with eAddress = '0' and number = '1', symLink = '\\?\scsi#changer&ven_hp&prod_msl_g3_series#5&18a76366&0&000101#{53f56310-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}'
--tr:Error code: 0x0000048a
--tr:Timed out waiting for device ready status on ChangerGetElementStatus operation, element 'ChangerIEPort' ?'0'
The indicated element does not exist.

Slot 1 has been configured to be the Mailslot and I have tried with Library Mode set to both Random and Automatic. Firmware and drivers are up to date (according to HPE Library & Tape Tools 5.2)

Tape Library: MSL 2024
Product ID: MSL G3 Series
Currently Installed Library Firmware: 6.40 / 3.20e
Library Mode: Manual, Random
Library Controller Version: LCM 1.1

Entire backup environment is WS2012R2.
Veeam Version: 9.0.0.1491
mcsmithSOP
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 42
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 3:26 pm
Location: Regina, SK, CAD
Full Name: Jason

Re: Tape Export: The indicated element does not exist

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu May 12, 2016 5:49 pm

Hi Jason,

Can you elaborate if failover to SCSI commands being enabled for your library?

Open the Tape Infrastructure view, expand the Libraries node and select the needed library. Click Properties on the ribbon. You can also right-click the necessary library in the working area and select Properties. Select the Use native SCSI commands instead of Windows driver check box.


Image
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape Export: The indicated element does not exist

Veeam Logoby mcsmithSOP » Thu May 12, 2016 7:54 pm

Hi Dima,

I did not have it enabled. I must've misunderstood the instructions on step 3 of Connecting Tape Devices since I did have, and device manager shows, the correct OEM driver for the device.

Tape export works now. Thank you.
mcsmithSOP
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 42
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 3:26 pm
Location: Regina, SK, CAD
Full Name: Jason

Re: Tape Export: The indicated element does not exist

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu May 12, 2016 11:02 pm

Jason,

Glad it worked! The instructions are correct - this option is brand new (so we would like people to still use the native OEM drivers). However, failover to SCSI seems to be very reliable and helps a lot in situations when drivers are misbehaving.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests