Tape integration with Veeam 7 (latest update)

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape integration with Veeam 7 (latest update)

Veeam Logoby robc.yk » Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:55 pm

Can someone tell me if the tape device needs to be presented to the managament server or can it be attached to a proxy server (All are physical).
I am hoping it can be attached to a physical proxy server, as our tape device is fibre attached, I am hoping to avoid copying over the network, but if it has to be the management server I do not see how I could avoid the data to go over the network.
robc.yk
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:25 pm
Full Name: Rob Carey

Re: Tape integration with Veeam 7 (latest update)

Veeam Logoby luckyinfil » Thu Oct 30, 2014 6:44 pm

A rep told me that tape proxies are available in V8
luckyinfil
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 91
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:25 pm

Re: Tape integration with Veeam 7 (latest update)

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Oct 30, 2014 8:57 pm

Native support for remotely attached tape devices will be added in version 8. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests