Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Everything about backing up to tape

[MERGED] Importing backup tapes.

Veeam Logoby kroerig » Mon Dec 01, 2014 4:15 pm

Hello!

Importing, inventorting and cataloging tapes results in the following error:

Code: Select all
01.12.2014 16:51:33          Processing started at Montag, 1. Dezember 2014 16:51:32
01.12.2014 16:51:36          Drive 256 (Drive ID: Tape1) locked successfully
01.12.2014 16:51:38 Error    Failed to inventory tape in Drive 256 (Drive ID: Tape1) Error: ChannelError: ConnectionReset
01.12.2014 16:51:38 Error    Completed with error at Montag, 1. Dezember 2014 16:51:38


I thinks it's the same as here: tape-f29/tape-jobs-fail-after-switching-to-vbr-8-t24174.html

CASE ID: 00691845

Klaus
kroerig
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 10:45 am
Full Name: Klaus Rörig

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby stuartmacgreen » Mon Dec 01, 2014 8:05 pm

mt.exe is here http://www.holistech.co.uk/sw/mt/mt.html

If you want to query the blocksize detected by the drive for your media in the drive
First move the tape into the drive. You can do this via a WEB UI your tape library might have.
Or Inventory the tape in Veeam.

You issue the command first command for each drive you have a tape you want to query. Then the second to get the block size of the media.

C:\> mt drivestatus tapeX
C:\> mt mediastatus tapeX

You can also get this info from Device Manager and Properties on the Tape Drive and from the tabs that are presented there you can see block size detected.

If you see a mismatch you can set the block size for the media using mt - of course be careful there is no data on that media you may want to restore from.

BTW: Short Erase and Long Erase do not change a block size for media in my drives.
Backup Infrastructure: Veeam B&R 9.5 • vSphere 5.5 U3e • HP MSA 2040 [FC] (Backup Storage) • HP MSL6480 LTO-6 (Tape Storage)
(Veeam Endpoint Backup protecting Veeam Proxy / Tape / Repository servers)
stuartmacgreen
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 87
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 11:56 am
Full Name: Stuart Green

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby rpetrov1981 » Tue Dec 02, 2014 6:26 am

Yesterday I received a new Tape Agent from VEEAM's support team. I just replaced my old agent with a new one and tape jobs run well, including inventory, recording and restoring from tapes. I suppose you guys should wait a bit.
rpetrov1981
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 8:45 am
Full Name: Roman Petrov

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby MHoffmann » Tue Dec 02, 2014 7:41 am

Thanks for the link to mt.exe - unfortunately drive and both tapes of the session which is failing have identical blocksize of 131072.
I will try to use some new tapes see if that makes any difference for now.
MHoffmann
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 1:08 pm

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:40 am 1 person likes this post

Hi, Martin, even though you're on evaluation license, you can still open a ticket with our support team and get the updated agent, once your issue is confirmed to be the similar one. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby erchanchal » Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:20 am

Is there any solution available for this?
We are facing the exact issue with IBM TS2900 and case is already opened(# 01752800) yet to get a solution
erchanchal
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:13 am
Full Name: Chanchal Sharma

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby rreed » Tue May 17, 2016 2:30 pm

Walked into it here this morning as well, V9 w/ latest updates, etc.

"Failed to start new tape backup session: StartSessionTape failed
Failed to prepare to start new tape session: StartSessionTape failed
Failed to prepare to start new tape session: StartSessionTape failed StartSessionTape failed When accessing a new tape of a multivolume partition, the current block size is incorrect. Tape read error When accessing a new tape of a multivolume partition, the current block size is incorrect."

I tried doing a quick erase on the tapes in question but I think I saw somewhere in these merged threads it didn't help another user.
VMware 6
Veeam B&R v9
Dell DR4100's
EMC DD2200's
EMC DD620's
Dell TL2000 via PE430 (SAS)
rreed
Expert
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 72 times
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 6:06 pm

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu May 19, 2016 4:14 pm

Hi rreed,

Can you double-check the tape library firmware is up to date?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Previous

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests