Tape Questions

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape Questions

Veeam Logoby mythumbsclick » Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:51 pm

Hi guys

I have no previous experience with backing up to tape so could really do with a bit of guidance. I currently have an r720 Veeam backup repo (physical - server 2012R2) which my Veeam backup server uses as a target. Using Veeam i also replicate to a remote site critical servers and this all works well. I want to back up a monthly full to tape which will be held in a safe in a remote office for archive purposes. Backing up Exchange/Documents server I would imagine would be no more than a couple of TB so reckon I can get away with a single LT6 tape per month. Because I am a dell "shop" I have been looking at the PowerVault TL1000.

Do you think this would be sufficient and work ok with Veeam?

Can I get away with adding the tape library to the existing physical r720 Veeam repo server via ISCSI initiator and would the Veeam Backup VM be ok having the same server as a Tape repo and a backup target?

Thanks
mythumbsclick
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:56 pm
Full Name: mythumbsclick

Re: Tape Questions

Veeam Logoby skrause » Mon Jan 04, 2016 6:34 pm

Veeam will work fine with your tape library connected to the repository server (I have mine set up this way).

If the disk you use for your backup repository is internal, there should be no issues with connecting the tape library over iSCSI, just use the non-exclusive drivers from the manufacturer. If your disk that your repository server uses are connected by iSCSI, you may potentially run into issues if you use the same HBAs to connect the library and disk (best practices for tape is to have separate HBAs in your server for disk and tape traffic).
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 296
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Tape Questions

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:23 pm

Hi,

All the described should work, however, keep in mind that iSCSI connected tape devices might be a bit slower than directly connected.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape Questions

Veeam Logoby mythumbsclick » Tue Jan 05, 2016 8:54 am

Great thanks for input. Next step buy a tape library :)
mythumbsclick
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:56 pm
Full Name: mythumbsclick

Re: Tape Questions

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jan 05, 2016 5:09 pm

You are welcome. If any questions arise - don’t hesitate asking :wink:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape Questions

Veeam Logoby mythumbsclick » Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:35 am

Thanks Dima

These questions are less Veeam related and more generic backup to tape.

Just reading through the description of the PowerVault TL1000: http://www.dell.com/uk/business/p/storage-tl1000/pd
"Fast installation — Simply unpack and rack the unit, connect the SAS cable, load tape media and power on the TL1000 to get started."
Looks like the only interface is SAS direct to a server? Does veeam care about that as long as its presented to the physical server correctly?

With the tape media and LTO6 (2.5 TB native; 6.25 TB) will veeam compress the backup to allow up to 6.25TB or is that something the tape drive should take care of?

Are there any other single drive tape libraries I should be looking at?
Thanks
mythumbsclick
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:56 pm
Full Name: mythumbsclick

Re: Tape Questions

Veeam Logoby skrause » Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:38 pm

If your Veeam backups are already compressed/deduped and/or encrypted, using library compression won't do much. There is an option in tape job to enable library compression but it is recommended not to use it for Veeam backups to tape.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 296
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Tape Questions

Veeam Logoby mythumbsclick » Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:48 am

So if my critical servers full backup job is around 1.2TB after Veeam compressed/deduped, does this go towards the LTO Native 2.5TB or compressed 6.25TB?
mythumbsclick
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:56 pm
Full Name: mythumbsclick

Re: Tape Questions

Veeam Logoby skrause » Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:48 pm

It will use the tapes' Native LTO size. (My LTO5 tapes hold 1.4TB of Veeam Backups)
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 296
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Tape Questions

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Jan 07, 2016 3:18 pm

mythumbsclick, there are inline backup deduplication(processed by VBR) and tape drive deduplication which has almost same level of deduplication (depending on settings).
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Tape Questions

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jan 08, 2016 10:25 am

The best course of action might be just to play with different options (software and hardware deduplications), once you get a chance, and see which one answers your requirements best. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests