Tape Reclamation

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape Reclamation

Veeam Logoby Strecker25 » Mon Jan 30, 2017 10:10 pm

Is Veeam v9.5 not capable of tape reclamation after a failed job? We often have issues with large jobs and it appears that veeam does not mark the tape as free after the failure even though the only data on it is the partial full from that large job. We have a bunch of tapes that report as full but have no Veeam files on them and I can only think of this being the cause.
Strecker25
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:18 pm
Full Name: Ryan Strecker

Re: Tape Reclamation

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue Jan 31, 2017 10:23 am

Ryan, the job may fail, but still have some backups successfully copied to the tape.
We have a bunch of tapes that report as full but have no Veeam files on them and I can only think of this being the cause.

That looks strange. You mean there no files at all, but VBR treats the tapes as full? What about protection period, is that applied for them?
By the way, what is the reason backup to tape jobs are failing?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5141
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Tape Reclamation

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jan 31, 2017 12:40 pm

The half-written tape doesn't get marked as free automatically. You will need to erase it manually (mark as free, alternatively) or wait till retention chimes in.

By the way, only the backup files successfully written to this media will be visible via GUI.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13721
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape Reclamation

Veeam Logoby Strecker25 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:06 pm

Thanks, the jobs have failed for a few different reasons. Some appear to be tape library related, mechanism errors, etc. Quite often we see this:

Code: Select all
1/11/2017 3:41:10 PM :: Loaded tape has unexpected media ID. Most likely, this is caused by duplicate barcode. Please insert the correct tape. 


which doesn't make a lot of sense to me, because we do not have duplicate bar codes.

And also, these:
Code: Select all
1/5/2017 12:11:03 AM :: Error: read: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host read: End of file Unable to retrieve next block transmission command. Number of already processed blocks: [534765].



Also, and this may be a bug, when we right click a "full" tape and go to properries to view its contents they show no data. If i do a catalog of that tape, the data shows up in the properties tab temporarily. If we go away a while and then come back, say an hour later, the properties tab is again empty unless we do a catalog of that tape. I have tried to do catalogizaton of the entire library and it only temporarily fixes the issue. Is this a known problem?
Strecker25
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:18 pm
Full Name: Ryan Strecker

Re: Tape Reclamation

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:10 pm

Ryan,
which doesn't make a lot of sense to me, because we do not have duplicate bar codes.

Was that a pure 9.5 installation or you upgraded you existing VBR server? By the way, do you have Update 1 installed? Last error usually means that connection was dropped between repository and tape server while writing data to tape. This issue should be resolved in Update 1
If i do a catalog of that tape, the data shows up in the properties tab temporarily

Are you referring to successful tape job run i.e. not affected by errors you posted?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6686
Liked: 478 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape Reclamation

Veeam Logoby Strecker25 » Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:17 pm

Are you referring to successful tape job run i.e. not affected by errors you posted?

Yes, sorry. On tapes that have been successfully written to by tape jobs. In the properties tab we don't see any files listed, until a tape catalog is run against that tape. Once complete the data will show up, but only for a short while after which the properties window again goes blank.
Strecker25
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:18 pm
Full Name: Ryan Strecker

Re: Tape Reclamation

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:32 pm

Ryan,

Very strange behavior which looks like a bug. Kindly, open a support case and share the case id.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6686
Liked: 478 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape Reclamation

Veeam Logoby Strecker25 » Thu Feb 02, 2017 3:02 pm

Will do, also installing update 1 today. Will post results after we re-run some tape jobs post update
Strecker25
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:18 pm
Full Name: Ryan Strecker

Re: Tape Reclamation

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Feb 02, 2017 3:13 pm

Ryan,

Please keep us posted, as QA team is interested in your issue too. Thanks!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6686
Liked: 478 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest