Tape rotation

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape rotation

Veeam Logoby EBoucq » Fri Dec 04, 2015 3:34 pm

Hi,

I use a HP MSLG3 with 2 drives and 24 slots for my backups to tape.
I need about 6 tapes each month for my backup and I have a 24 months retention.
Does Veeam will deal with the tape cycles (eject tapes I have to keep for 24 months,..) ?
If I have to look myself for the tapes I need to eject, how do I do that since the eject option is greyed out for the tapes in the slots ?

Thanks,
Eric
EBoucq
Expert
 
Posts: 213
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq

Re: Tape rotation

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Dec 04, 2015 3:59 pm

Hi Eric,
You can use such Veeam ONE report as Tape Media Retention Period, it shows retention policy of all infrastructure tape media.
There will be another report showing information about automatically exported tapes. Is that what you are looking for?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Tape rotation

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Dec 06, 2015 4:37 pm

Eric,

Additionally, there is an option to set up a tape vault that was designed specifically for offline media tracking thru the UI

the eject option is greyed out for the tapes in the slots ?

That's odd - eject option can be enabled in the tape job properties even for standalone drives.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape rotation

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:50 am

the eject option is greyed out for the tapes in the slots ?

Might be a silly question - but aren't you using version 7 by any chance? I'm wondering because the described behaviour reminds me of VB&R v7. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape rotation

Veeam Logoby EBoucq » Tue Dec 08, 2015 10:59 am

Hi,

Thanks for your replies.
I use Veeam v8.

Regards,
Eric
EBoucq
Expert
 
Posts: 213
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq

Re: Tape rotation

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Dec 08, 2015 1:44 pm

Then, open a ticket with our support team, since we have not seen similar issue for some time. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape rotation

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Dec 08, 2015 1:47 pm

Eric,

Thanks, and how about the eject/export options of the tape job – is it usable or disabled for some reason?

Image
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape rotation

Veeam Logoby EBoucq » Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:10 pm

Hi Dmitry,

Those options are available so I guess I should check the "Eject media once..." for the next backup to tape job.
But, for all the tapes still in the media and protected because they'll expire in 24 months, what should I do with them so I can add new tapes for the next backups ?

Thanks !
Eric
EBoucq
Expert
 
Posts: 213
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq

Re: Tape rotation

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:18 pm

You mean there are some mediums that currently are stuck in drives and eject option is greyed out for them? What happens if you try to eject them at the drives level, instead. Select the Drives node, right-click the necessary drive and select Eject. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Absalom and 7 guests