Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
davidwatts71
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Oct 30, 2017 8:05 am
Full Name: David Alexander Watts
Contact:

Tape server

Post by davidwatts71 » Aug 22, 2019 12:29 pm

Hi

We are running Veeam 9.5 update 4b. BCK10001 connected to a Quest DR6300 backup repository. 10.0.0.X network
We have recently installed a tape robot a Quantum I Scalar i3 which is connected to a tape server BCK10002 10.0.0.X network
The tape server BCK10002 has also access to the DR6300 over a 10G interface on the same network.

When we run backup jobs to tape we can see that BCK10001 is reading from the repository and transferring the data to the tape server BCK10002
and then to tape.

It was my understanding that the veeamagent\veeamtransportSrv installed on BCK10002 was supposed to read directly from the repository and then to tape.
So we are thinking that we are doing something wrong since we are not getting the performance we should . 50MB\s – 150MB\s.

Were looking at Global Network Traffic Rules – Networks. Are we supposed to change anything there?

Thanks
David

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... l?ver=95u4
“The tape server is a backup infrastructure component transferring data between data source and tape device.
while all administration is performed by the Veeam backup server”

Image

Image

davidwatts71
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Oct 30, 2017 8:05 am
Full Name: David Alexander Watts
Contact:

Re: Tape server

Post by davidwatts71 » Aug 22, 2019 1:06 pm

When editing the tape server it shows up as BCK10001 for package transport and package tape proxy. I would have thought this would be BCK10002, since this is the tape server

https://imgur.com/pjm3AFS

https://imgur.com/OHr7V2S

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10548
Liked: 859 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Tape server

Post by Dima P. » Aug 22, 2019 3:02 pm

Hello David,
BCK10001 connected to a Quest DR6300 backup repository
Can you please clarify how this repository has been added to the Veeam B&R console (I assume as CIFS or Windows repository)? Thanks!

davidwatts71
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Oct 30, 2017 8:05 am
Full Name: David Alexander Watts
Contact:

Re: Tape server

Post by davidwatts71 » Aug 23, 2019 6:24 am

Yes its been added as CIFS repository path to folder \\10.0.0.3\Veeam

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10548
Liked: 859 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Tape server

Post by Dima P. » Aug 23, 2019 11:25 am

Thanks! In such case tape server will keep the connection with CIFS gateway server in the repository settings. Can you please double check which gateway server you are using? Cheers!

davidwatts71
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Oct 30, 2017 8:05 am
Full Name: David Alexander Watts
Contact:

Re: Tape server

Post by davidwatts71 » Aug 26, 2019 11:52 am

thanks for you reply Dima, the CIFS gateway is BCK10001

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10548
Liked: 859 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Tape server

Post by Dima P. » Aug 29, 2019 11:11 am

Thanks for the clarification. Tape server component communicates with gateway server component, so such behavior is expected. Mind me asking if it's possible to setup tape server component directly to your gateway server (in such case traffic should be isolated within single machine)? Cheers!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: wishr and 8 guests