Tape Thinking It Is Another Tape

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape Thinking It Is Another Tape

Veeam Logoby Unfundednut » Tue May 10, 2016 12:40 pm

I have an 8 bay autoloader. Today I removed all the tapes and placed a single tape in there to run a 1 off to tape backup. The tape I put in has no labels (while our regular tapes do). It shows up as "Tape 20" which makes sense, but everything to do with the tape errors, erasing, backing up to it. Because it thinks it is another tape as well.

2016-05-10 7:22:27 AM Error Failed to erase tape HIZ587L5 Error: Loaded tape has unexpected media ID than expected. Most likely, this is caused by duplicate barcode. Please insert the correct tape.


There is no physical label on this tape. The tape was used to backup files at some point prior to our adding labels.


Image

Any ideas on how to proceed? I tried to scan, inventory and catalog the tape. All result in either the same error or nothing happens.
Unfundednut
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 4:15 pm
Full Name: Joe

Re: Tape Thinking It Is Another Tape

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue May 10, 2016 9:11 pm

Hi Joe,

Did you try to remove the said tape from the catalogue?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6673
Liked: 477 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape Thinking It Is Another Tape

Veeam Logoby JohannesW » Mon Dec 12, 2016 2:43 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Dima,

had the same issue.
Removing the tape from catalogue fixed it, thanks.
JohannesW
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:08 am

Re: Tape Thinking It Is Another Tape

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Dec 14, 2016 9:45 am

Hi JohannesW,

Great! Thanks for updating this thread and confirming that suggested solution works.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6673
Liked: 477 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest