Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
KarelV
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 04, 2017 12:42 pm
Contact:

Tapes not completely full

Post by KarelV » Dec 05, 2017 10:15 am

Hello,

We created a monthly backup job for offloading to tape.
I have noticed that the tapes used in the backup pool are not full.
After the job has finished veeam used for example 7 tapes, but all tapes have more than 50% free capacity, sometimes even 80% !
I am wondering why he doesn't write all the tapes full so it saves on tapes?
Is there a logical explanation or is it a wrong configuration?

We are using Backup & Replication 9.5 with HP MSL2024, LTO7 tapes.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15221
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Tapes not completely full

Post by v.Eremin » Dec 05, 2017 1:51 pm

How mediaset creation, overwrite protection and export settings look like? And how often does a tape job run (once a month, I assume)? Thanks.

KarelV
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 04, 2017 12:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Tapes not completely full

Post by KarelV » Dec 05, 2017 2:13 pm

Hello,

Media Set: Do not create, always continue using current media set.
Retention: Protect data for 4 weeks
Every month the job runs.

francs
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 20, 2012 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Tapes not completely full

Post by francs » Dec 13, 2017 8:03 am

I'm having the same problem with a monthly pool.
I have 4 jobs writing to the same pool.
Media Set: Do not create, always continue using current media set.
Retention: Protect data for 12 months
No offline media tracking.
Enable parallel processing is enabled
Encryption is enabled

I've unticked the box to use tapes from the Free pool as this pool already have 7 tapes in it, all with lots of free space.

Looking at the log files I see the following message
[CTapeMediumForWriteFindAlg] Searching next tape medium to write to in media pool 'Monthly Tape Pool', media set '1513035329 7 total, 0 available, 0 free, startNewMediaSet 'False'

Until I move a Free tape to the pool
[CTapeMediumForWriteFindAlg] Searching next tape medium to write to in media pool 'Monthly Tape Pool', media set '1513035329 8 total, 1 available, 1 free, startNewMediaSet 'False'

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8760
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Tapes not completely full

Post by Dima P. » Dec 13, 2017 2:13 pm

Guys,

Are you using parallel processing between multiple drives / chains? If yes - how may drives are you using for parallel processing? Thanks.

KarelV
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 04, 2017 12:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Tapes not completely full

Post by KarelV » Dec 13, 2017 2:36 pm

We use only one drive

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8760
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Tapes not completely full

Post by Dima P. » Dec 13, 2017 6:25 pm

KarelV,

Can you please elaborate if you unload the tape media before its filled or you use a single tape for all your jobs as a target (i.e. you use one tape per media pool and change them when the corresponding tape job kicks it)? Thanks.

francs
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 20, 2012 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Tapes not completely full

Post by francs » Dec 13, 2017 8:16 pm

Yes, we unload the tapes before they are filled.
There are a lot of other jobs that also use the tape drives.

We've enabled parallel processing to 2 drives simultaneously.
Enable parallel processing of backup chains within a single tape job is Unticked/Disabled.

KarelV
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 04, 2017 12:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Tapes not completely full

Post by KarelV » Dec 14, 2017 1:24 pm

Hello,

I am not sure i understand your question correctly. We have 1 media pool where all the blank (new) tapes are stored, the tape job uses this pool of tapes to write the backup jobs to.
We only have one tape job, we only use the tapes once and archive them to the vault. The option 'Eject media upon job completion' is selected. (best practice?)

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8760
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Tapes not completely full

Post by Dima P. » Dec 17, 2017 6:23 pm

KarelV,
I am out of ideas. Please open a support case and let our support team investigate your logs. Do not forget to share the case ID.

francs,
It’s expected to have some free space left when parallel processing is enabled and you perform tape export. If you would like to further investigate this issue, please open a support case too.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests