Tapes not completely full

Discussions specific to tape backups

Tapes not completely full

Veeam Logoby KarelV » Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:15 am

Hello,

We created a monthly backup job for offloading to tape.
I have noticed that the tapes used in the backup pool are not full.
After the job has finished veeam used for example 7 tapes, but all tapes have more than 50% free capacity, sometimes even 80% !
I am wondering why he doesn't write all the tapes full so it saves on tapes?
Is there a logical explanation or is it a wrong configuration?

We are using Backup & Replication 9.5 with HP MSL2024, LTO7 tapes.
KarelV
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Tapes not completely full

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:51 pm

How mediaset creation, overwrite protection and export settings look like? And how often does a tape job run (once a month, I assume)? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14581
Liked: 1092 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tapes not completely full

Veeam Logoby KarelV » Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:13 pm

Hello,

Media Set: Do not create, always continue using current media set.
Retention: Protect data for 4 weeks
Every month the job runs.
KarelV
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Tapes not completely full

Veeam Logoby francs » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:03 am

I'm having the same problem with a monthly pool.
I have 4 jobs writing to the same pool.
Media Set: Do not create, always continue using current media set.
Retention: Protect data for 12 months
No offline media tracking.
Enable parallel processing is enabled
Encryption is enabled

I've unticked the box to use tapes from the Free pool as this pool already have 7 tapes in it, all with lots of free space.

Looking at the log files I see the following message
[CTapeMediumForWriteFindAlg] Searching next tape medium to write to in media pool 'Monthly Tape Pool', media set '1513035329 7 total, 0 available, 0 free, startNewMediaSet 'False'

Until I move a Free tape to the pool
[CTapeMediumForWriteFindAlg] Searching next tape medium to write to in media pool 'Monthly Tape Pool', media set '1513035329 8 total, 1 available, 1 free, startNewMediaSet 'False'
francs
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:54 am

Re: Tapes not completely full

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:13 pm

Guys,

Are you using parallel processing between multiple drives / chains? If yes - how may drives are you using for parallel processing? Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7609
Liked: 548 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tapes not completely full

Veeam Logoby KarelV » Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:36 pm

We use only one drive
KarelV
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Tapes not completely full

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:25 pm

KarelV,

Can you please elaborate if you unload the tape media before its filled or you use a single tape for all your jobs as a target (i.e. you use one tape per media pool and change them when the corresponding tape job kicks it)? Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7609
Liked: 548 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tapes not completely full

Veeam Logoby francs » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:16 pm

Yes, we unload the tapes before they are filled.
There are a lot of other jobs that also use the tape drives.

We've enabled parallel processing to 2 drives simultaneously.
Enable parallel processing of backup chains within a single tape job is Unticked/Disabled.
francs
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:54 am

Re: Tapes not completely full

Veeam Logoby KarelV » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:24 pm

Hello,

I am not sure i understand your question correctly. We have 1 media pool where all the blank (new) tapes are stored, the tape job uses this pool of tapes to write the backup jobs to.
We only have one tape job, we only use the tapes once and archive them to the vault. The option 'Eject media upon job completion' is selected. (best practice?)
KarelV
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Tapes not completely full

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:23 pm

KarelV,
I am out of ideas. Please open a support case and let our support team investigate your logs. Do not forget to share the case ID.

francs,
It’s expected to have some free space left when parallel processing is enabled and you perform tape export. If you would like to further investigate this issue, please open a support case too.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7609
Liked: 548 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests