Tapes not recognized

Everything about backing up to tape

Tapes not recognized

Veeam Logoby toonruler » Mon Jul 06, 2015 2:58 pm

Hi,

we've got B&R V8 Patch 2 installed on a 2008 R2 (VM) Server.
A Tandberg LTO-5 HH drive is connected to a small physical server (2008 R2). We've got BackupExec installed and want to get rid of it!
So I configured the physical server as a TapeServer.
Veeam now displays the button for Tape Backups, but the media is not recognized! It say's the drive is empty.
I upgraded the drivers on the physical machine to the latest possible 1.0.7.2 (there's a misspelling on the tandberg website, saying it should be 1.7.0.2)
BE detecs all files and folders on the current inserted media.
Any ideas?
thanks !
toonruler
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 5:28 pm

Re: Tapes not recognized

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jul 06, 2015 3:04 pm

Can you check whether there are no BE remnants that might prevent VB&R from working properly with the said device, such as drivers, running services, etc.?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tapes not recognized

Veeam Logoby toonruler » Tue Jul 07, 2015 9:53 am

I stopped all BE services on the machine with no result.
Uninstalling is only an option if V&R works.
toonruler
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 5:28 pm

Re: Tapes not recognized

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:17 am

If possible, I'd remove BE completely just to be sure it's not involved in process anyhow.

If it's not, I'd contact our support team and let them confirm your environment.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tapes not recognized

Veeam Logoby toonruler » Wed Jul 08, 2015 6:42 am

I stopped and disabled all BE services, then restarted the server.
After a while in V&R the tape switched from offline to online but is still "empty"
toonruler
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 5:28 pm

Re: Tapes not recognized

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jul 08, 2015 10:52 am

Have you tried to catalog and/or inventory it?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tapes not recognized

Veeam Logoby toonruler » Wed Jul 08, 2015 11:42 am

Thanks for that hint.
The cataloging and inventoring fails with "Cannot inventory tape in Drive 1 (Drive ID: Tape0). Unkown Media (possibly in use my another application) "

BE is already uninstalled and the server was rebooted.
Any ideas?

Thanks!
toonruler
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 5:28 pm

Re: Tapes not recognized

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jul 08, 2015 11:49 am

Can you erase medium using drive manufacture native tool and see whether it can be invetoried and used successfully afterwards?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tapes not recognized

Veeam Logoby toonruler » Wed Jul 08, 2015 11:55 am

ok, erasing did the trick!
After a quick erase the inventoring and cataloging was successfull.
Seems like I have to erase every tape that was previously used by BE !?
toonruler
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 5:28 pm

Re: Tapes not recognized

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:39 pm

Correct, you can erase them prior to putting into use. The process might be automated via PowerShell, though.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests