TS3200 Veeam 7 Patch 4 No Media

Everything about backing up to tape

TS3200 Veeam 7 Patch 4 No Media

Veeam Logoby edocom » Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:45 pm

Hi, i use Veeam 7 Patch 4 on a Windows 2012 R2 Server. I attached my Tapelibrary IBM TS 3200 over SAS.
I also installed the IBM Driver for Windows 2012 non_exclusive. I can se the Tapelibrary on my Device Manager under Tapedevice -> IBM Ultrium 5 HH 3580 Tape Drive. The same Device i see in Veeam / Backup Infrastructure, but i can not see the Tapes! Media is empty! So i cant backup on the Drives :( the same Tapelibrary i have used with Backup Exec 12 and the same Tapes, but on a 2008 r2 Server.

What can i do, any ideas? :) great THX!
edocom
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:28 pm
Full Name: edocom

Re: TS3200 Veeam 7 Patch 4 No Media

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:49 pm

Are the tape mediums located inside the library empty or do they have data written to them? In the latter case, have you already checked the "Unrecognized" media pool? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: TS3200 Veeam 7 Patch 4 No Media

Veeam Logoby edocom » Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:13 pm

hi, i think i have found the issue, i must delete all my tapes and now i see it on veeam! :)
edocom
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:28 pm
Full Name: edocom

Re: TS3200 Veeam 7 Patch 4 No Media

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:18 pm

Glad to hear that you've nailed it. Tapes that have data written to it by 3-party application are automatically placed in "Unrecognized" Media Pool. In order to use them you should erase them first or move to the free media pool. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests