Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Discussions specific to tape backups

Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Veeam Logoby joergr » Thu Mar 15, 2018 7:54 am

Hi,

I have a let´s say cosmetical discussion / question going on in my team. We often use physical VEEAM machines with four physical streamers directly attached to it (no changer). So all of these four streamers have a free tape inside and are placed all in one Media Pool with multiple Libraries. The Backup to tape job is configured with this multi-library-media-pool as target and all works as expected: streamer a writes the tape full, then streamer b is automatically selected and the session continues and so on. Only cosmetic problem: Everytime a tape is full and the next streamer is automatically selected, veeam throws a "Unable to use library - Library Streamer xy has no free media" via Mail. As it is all good we really don´t want that warning message.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Joerg
joergr
Expert
 
Posts: 382
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether

Re: Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Mar 15, 2018 12:53 pm

Hello Joerg.

I was under impression that you should get a warning message in the tape job session and warning email notification afterwards. Are you saying that you get a failed job email notification whenever job fails over to another tape device?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7607
Liked: 548 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Veeam Logoby joergr » Thu Mar 15, 2018 6:33 pm

Hi,

no warning at all in the log / history. The job log shows completely green and the log just says with green marks "library has no free media" followed by a green "required ressources found". So all is OK. The mail we get is no warning either, it just says subject "unable to use library" and text "Library Streamer-bla cannot be used for backup. Details: Library Streamer-bla has no free media".

This mail makes no sense at all and we do not know how to stop it without disabling all mail warnings.

Thanks

Joerg
joergr
Expert
 
Posts: 382
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether

Re: Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Mar 16, 2018 10:06 am 1 person likes this post

Thanks for the details! It sounds strange, let me discuss this behavior with QA team.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7607
Liked: 548 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Veeam Logoby joergr » Fri Mar 16, 2018 11:46 am

Yep, that would be great ;-) Thanks Dima.
joergr
Expert
 
Posts: 382
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether

Re: Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Veeam Logoby AlexB82 » Tue May 01, 2018 2:11 pm

Hi,
I'd like to report the same issue, only it happens with our 4 IBM tape libraries (4 drives and 45 tape slots per library). What makes matters worse is that we have Veeam automatically logging service desk trouble tickets with each one - last weekend I had to close around 40+ tickets all with the same text. No jobs actually failed, so it's highly frustrating. The message sent is:

Library IBM 3573-TL D.60 (*libraryname*) cannot be used for backup. Details: All drives are busy in IBM 3573-TL D.60 (*libraryname*)

If it could be disabled so that only actual failures are emailed, it'd be much appreciated.
No matter how much you push the envelope, it'll always be stationary
AlexB82
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 2:06 pm

Re: Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed May 02, 2018 10:46 am 1 person likes this post

Hi AlexB82,

QA team has concluded that this behavior should be investigated by our support team as log analysts is required. Please submit a support case and share the case Id in this thread. Thank you in advance!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7607
Liked: 548 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Prague
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Veeam Logoby AlexB82 » Wed May 16, 2018 12:20 pm

Joerg - I logged a case with Veeam for this, and I've been advised by support to add the "DisableEjectWarning" registry entry on the tape servers. Not sure if it'll help, but we'll see when the next tape run happens.

It's meant to suppress the "unable to eject some tapes" warning, but they've advised it might work for this error too.
No matter how much you push the envelope, it'll always be stationary
AlexB82
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 2:06 pm

Re: Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Veeam Logoby joergr » Wed May 16, 2018 7:58 pm

Hi, nice, thanks, just set

Path: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication
Value: DisableEjectWarning
Type: DWORD
Value : 1

let's see how this works out ;-)

Thanks

Joerg
joergr
Expert
 
Posts: 382
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether

Re: Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Veeam Logoby AlexB82 » Thu May 17, 2018 10:41 am

joergr wrote:Hi, nice, thanks, just set

Path: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication
Value: DisableEjectWarning
Type: DWORD
Value : 1

let's see how this works out ;-)

Thanks

Joerg


I was told to put it in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Veeam\Veeam Backup Tape - might want to include that location too?
No matter how much you push the envelope, it'll always be stationary
AlexB82
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 2:06 pm

Re: Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Veeam Logoby joergr » Thu May 17, 2018 10:59 am

Thanks!

OK, done. Let´s wait and see. Does it need a service restart or is it effective immediately?

Thanks

Joerg
joergr
Expert
 
Posts: 382
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether

Re: Unable to use Library - "false positive"

Veeam Logoby AlexB82 » Thu May 17, 2018 11:43 am

joergr wrote:Thanks!

OK, done. Let´s wait and see. Does it need a service restart or is it effective immediately?

Thanks

Joerg


They didn't mention anything about restarting services.
No matter how much you push the envelope, it'll always be stationary
AlexB82
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 2:06 pm


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests